Holy Lo Mein and Corn Dogs


Wow. I had planned to take a photo of our dinner this week, but our pizza wasn’t super pretty (though pretty good). But…the Lo Mein, so great!

I was so excited to eat it that I forgot the photo. It was like the perfect take out meal, but made at home.

Here is the recipe.

And here is the photo from the website.

20120829-194600.jpg

This is basically what mine looked like.

Let me tell you how I made this so easy.
– I boiled the spaghetti on Sunday and popped it into a Tupperware container and put it in the fridge.
– I bought steamer snap peas.
– I trimmed the pork on Sunday and stored it in a baggie in the fridge.
– I premade the Crab Rangoon.
– I used left over red sauce.
– I used minced garlic.

So today when I got home, I popped the peas in the microwave for half the time requested, then cut the bag open to drop them in the pan. Then I just opened the bag of sliced pork chop and dropped that in, too. Then I followed the recipe. It was amazing. So delicious. All I had to do was heat the crab Rangoon in the microwave for a bit.

Seriously, it was pretty tasty, even Bub loved it.

Next time, I might used plain peas, not snap peas, and possibly throw in some mushrooms and carrot slices.

Tonight, I’m also making mini corn dog muffins for the game on Friday.

20120829-201209.jpg

I’m doing it tonight because we are playing in the kickball playoffs tomorrow night. And should we be crowned champions, we will have played at 6:30, 7:30 and 8:30. Woo hoo!

I’m serving them up on my new UT platter!

20120829-201101.jpg

Cute huh? And look how good these look…we will be lucky if they survive to Friday with the nibbling that goes on on this house!

20120829-201924.jpg

Ps…the way to make these taste money is to use Hebrew Nationals hot dogs…seriously, don’t even wast your time with anything else. In the first batch, I used Jiffy box mix and added a little honey (my cornbread secret) and the second batch is made with the recipe on the back of the Kroger cornmeal…with a little honey added in. And the Hebrew Nationals are where it’s at…in both instances. The pre-mixed cornbread is a little sweeter then the from-scratch cornbread, but both are good. If you want to sweeten the from-scratch, add more honey.

I won’t lie…we already tasted these…a couple of them…for quality control, and they’re gonna be fine! GBO!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu

Leave a Reply

