It’s Been a big, BIG weekend!


So it has been a very big weekend. Over the last week, I’ve been getting the last little bit of stuff out of the apartment. This weekend, everything I own came out of it (except a microwave–which I’m leaving for Morgan since I didn’t give her a heads up that I was taking it). It’s a little bit frustrating because I’ve been paying rent on the apartment, but haven’t been staying there, watching TV or using any water or electricity…but it is what it is. It will be done by July 5th. I’ve even already dropped off my last two rent checks. Hopefully, we can get out of it without being robbed (having to replace the carpet and for painting).

Anyway, on Friday, I went by and cleared up some stuff and brought a load back to the house. Then we went out with some friends for dinner at Wasabi and then to Agave Azul. It was a great night.

The next morning I got up and met Mom and Katie and some movers at my apartment. They took all the last little bit of stuff out of the apartment and brought it to T’s and took the stuff going to my mom’s to Clinton. The guest room is totally acceptable for guests now with a bed and bedding. My dresser is in there and the entertainment center and we even found room to keep T’s bike and gaming systems in there. We also got my TV hung up on the wall in the bedroom and T couldn’t be happier, he’s now got two flat screen, HD TVs in the house. He’s pumped.

The move has been a bit stressful because the house (which is a pretty good size for the two of us) is feeling a bit crowded. Slowly, but surely, we’re getting things organized. Today, I had to reorganize the pantry because of the groceries that I brought over here from the apartment. I’m working on my clothes and the dresser in the guest room. This is probably the best thing to come out of the move…or the weirdest…this is how many single socks I came up with…too bad, most of them are good socks!

T is going to go through his closets today and see if we can figure out how to get his stuff into one of the smaller closets so we both have a big closet and a small closet and I’m purging a lot of my stuff for our yard sale on June 4th and 5th (thanks to April for hosting one for us before the move and then helping us get rid of a few more things after it). Our garage is full right now and I’m parking in the driveway, but it is working out ok. We’ve got some great stuff for the yard sale and hope to make quite a little bit of money for our trip to Florida and for the wedding account. So…come on by. It should be fun!

The only thing that stinks is that we won’t have the school traffic from Rocky Hill and West Hills elementary school because its summer, so we’ll see. It’s actually feeling good, though, to purge some of my stuff, because I am so overwhelmed by how much I actually have. T laughs and said when I came along he was at a time in his life when he was used to living with just the bare essentials, and now he has a lot of stuff. I told him I didn’t realize how much stuff I actually had and am kind of ready to start getting rid of some of it. I’ve got quite a bit of Phi Mu stuff I’m ready to let go of, but none of the Phi Mu girls seem interested, so I might just put it on ebay…which is a chore itself, but worth it because I’ve sold quite a bit of stuff from Phi Mu on there before. It’s a great way to get Little Sis Week stuff for cheap and shirts from other schools or older girls are always cool! We’ll see. Merging households is stressful, but we’re enjoying it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Friends, Home Repairs

Leave a Reply

