It’s Menu Time in…the H Household


Ok…so after a slow start to the morning (T and I both slept late late late) and my ass kicking at the gym by Trainer John we did some chores and finally got around to making our menu and getting to the grocery store.

I know all of you are waiting in baited breath…and…on a side note: I also know that a lot of you make fun of me for doing this…but either way, you’re reading it and that’s all I care about! haha. 🙂  Further, as I explained to several people this weekend I do this so that our family and friends who don’t live close to us can keep up with what we’re up to without having to call every day.  Also, I enjoy the little record it keeps for me of what we do and what meals we cook.  It’s a great little venture into my experience in trying to become a good cook and a good wife for T.  Also, also…I’m in communications and a lot of jobs require heavy knowledge of the blogosphere and other social media outlets (thus the foursquaring and the Facebooking and the blogging and the Twittering and the LinkedIn, etc.).  We all know (and if you didn’t you do now) that my job is only a 10 month contract with no guarantee of renewal after the end of next June…so I’m doing what I can to stay abreast, if you will, of the social networking trends public relations practitioners are putting to use.  I say all of that to say, basically, that I don’t care who thinks its lame or who makes fun of me for doing this because you all know I’m quirky and weird (Bubbah, I’m a fish!) so you know you love it. 🙂  Again, love to all!

So anyway, the menu for the week is:

TONIGHT: Steaks on the Grill with Lemon Horseradish New Potatoes and Salad

It’s a big meat and potatoes kind of night.  T is grilling us some steaks on the grill and to keep the meal hearty to kick the week off right, we’re doing new potatoes and salad as sides.  The new potato recipe comes from allrecipes.com and is super simple.  Even more so because I’ve spent some serious time over the last couple of weekends getting our kitchen cabinets and storage organized.  So the 2 quart casserole dish (handed down from my Nana’s kitchen collection) was easy to find and easy to get to.  The recipe called for:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 tablespoons prepared horseradish
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 pounds small new potatoes, unpeeled

Preheat the oven to 350 then melt the butter in the casserole dish in the microwave.  To the butter add the salt, pepper, horseradish and lemon juice.  Rinse and cut the new potatoes into quarters and toss them in the casserole dish to coat them with the mixture.  Then cook for an hour.  They are making the house smell yummy, spicy and sweet as they cook.

The salad that will accompany the meal will consist of chopped lettuce, sliced mushrooms, shredded cheese and maybe some carrots.

TUESDAY: NO MEAL.

T has his Fantasy Football Draft Tuesday night and I have my first official meeting with the Junior League right after work, complete with taking my picture for the directory.  So we’ll just eat leftovers from this weekend or from tonight and that will be that.

WEDNESDAY: Homemade Pizza.

We bought the Pillsbury Pizza dough (though I can make pizza dough in my bread maker) because we were worried the homemade dough would take too long to cook.  I was also worried that it would be a waste of time if I didn’t do the dough right and it didn’t come out right and we didn’t have a back up.  So we got the store-bought dough, bought pepperoni, mozzarella and spaghetti sauce and will just make our own pizza.  We might also add some fresh mushrooms to give it a little bit of flair…we still have some from our last grocery trip.

THURSDAY: BBQ Chicken, Green Beans and Corn on the Cob

If you’re a dedicated reader, you know this was on the menu a few weeks ago, but never got made and the green beans got served with another dish.  Well because we didn’t use the BBQ Sauce we bought for the last batch, we’re just going to repeat the meal and use up what we’ve got.  The green bans will probably be done with a little bit of bacon grease or butter, salt and pepper and the corn on the cob is just the frozen baby half-ear corns that you can buy in the grocery store freezer section.

FRIDAY: NO MEAL.

Because Friday will be another tailgate prep evening, we probably won’t plan a meal.  We have guests coming in and we don’t know what time they’ll get here, we’re not positive what we’re taking to the tailgate yet and so, we’ll just play this one by ear and see how it goes.

SATURDAY: NO MEAL. TAILGATING

As you are probably already keenly aware, we will be tailgating again on Saturday.  This Saturday Louis and Shaun are cooking up the Low Country Boil per request of Dr. Boone for his 30th Birthday celebration.  So I’ll probably try to take a snack for myself because the Low Country Boil is so spicy…and I’m a big spice wuss…that it’s hard for me to eat too much of it, though it is fabulously delicious.  Shaun and Louis do a GREAT job with this every year.  I’ll probably also try to do a cold side like a potato salad or something so that there’s something else too much on to cool off everyone’s lips after digging into the delicious spread.

So there you have it…the menu for the week.  Hope you all enjoy, because I can already tell that my potatoes for tonight’s dinner are going to be yummy.  I could fall asleep on the couch because the smell is so warm and buttery…makes this home feel so homey and warm.

1 Comment

Filed under Big Orange Football, Dinner Menu

One response to “It’s Menu Time in…the H Household

  1. Pingback: We’ve Made One Final Payment | Happy2Say

Leave a Reply

