It’s (Finally) Menu Day Again


So in keeping with the cluster that our day began with yesterday, we slept super late this morning and then got up to get ready to make the menu, do the grocery list and take my car to Best Buy to have my satellite radio installed.

I made the grocery list, prepared the menu and got ready to drop my car off.  After I made the list, we had to unload some chairs out of the back of Tanner’s car so we would have a place to put the groceries.  As he was doing that, I put the list, some coupons and my purse on the back of my car so I could go check the mail.  After I checked the mail, I grabbed by bag and the list and got ready to get in the car.  I noticed I dropped a couple of coupons, so I grabbed those and got into the car.  We went to Best Buy (home of THE WORST customer service EVER) and dropped my car off.  We went from there to “Best Bagels” and Deli on Cedar Bluff for a late breakfast/early lunch.  As we were leaving, I asked if I had brought my purse in, Tanner said no and I didn’t remember, so we went to the car.  I looked in the car, didn’t see my purse, so I went back inside.  Of course, it was sitting on the floor in the deli.  I grabbed it and we went to Target.  At Target, I couldn’t find the grocery list (SERIOUSLY?!), but thought I could get what I needed without too much trouble so we went ahead and did the Target trip.

We went BACK by Best Buy to get my grocery list out of the car.  Of course it wasn’t there.  So we came back to the house and I still couldn’t find the list.  So I made another copy of it, did my core circuit workout in the guest room and then went to get dressed again.  As I was putting on my shorts, I found the list…IN MY POCKET! Ugh!  So now, we’re just killing time waiting to hear that my car is ready and then go grocery shopping.

So, without further adieu, the menu is as follows:

Sunday: Uncertainty.

So, we were going to do the Pinto Beans again today because the weather is so yucky and kind of chilly, but I was skeptical of them when I pulled them out of the fridge.  If you’ve been doing your math, they are pretty old by now.  So, I’m probably throwing them out, which means we’ll have to come up with a new meal for tonight.

I am thinking spaghetti with meat sauce and bread with a to-be-determined green vegetable.  It would be warm, yummy and fantastic with a little bit of mushrooms thrown in.  So that will be it most likely!

Monday: Grilled Cheddar Stuffed Chicken with Black Beans and Rice

This recipe came from the Betty Crocker website.

Grilled Cheddar Stuffed Chicken

As you can see, basically, this dish is a chicken breast with cheddar cheese inside of it.  The side dish is black beans and rice (but not how Tanner usually makes it).  The rice is just a brown rice with some drained black beans stirred in.  The picture to the right has the chicken topped with some mild salsa, so Tanner will probably do that (but not me because my spice scale is so off).  We may add a green veggie like canned peas or something to that.  But it should be pretty good.

Tuesday: Pork Chops in Country Onion Gravy with Carrots and New Potatoes

This dish is also from the Betty Crocker website, too.  As you can see by the picture, it is served with a sort of smashed new potato and cooked carrots (not a dish for Mom, because she hates cooked carrots).  I thought this looked good because it was sort of a stroganauff-looking dish and a very hearty meal. 

The smashed potatoes are done by taking eight small new potatoes (quartered lengthwise) and two tablespoons of water and combining them in a 2-quart casserole dish.  After you steam them in the microwave about 3-5 minutes, you lay them out on a cookie sheet and spray them with cooking spray then sprinkle them with rosemary, thyme and paprika and wrap them in foil.  Cook them on the grill for about seven minutes over medium heat and, ta-da, yummy potatoes.

The carrots are cooked in a skillet with 1/2 c. orange juice, 3 tablespoons butter, two tablespoons sugar, 1/2 teaspoon each of salt and cumin or cinnamon.  All those ingredients are brought to a boil.  Heat is then reduced, the skillet is covered and simmered for about 9 minutes.  When they are ready to serve, just sprinkle with a little bit of parsley and serve it up!

Vegetarian Frittata

Wednesday: Vegetable Frittata and Biscuits

This recipe, like the others, is from the Betty Crocker website.  Obviously, this is our vegetarian night.  The frittata, a new take on breakfast for dinner is made with eggs, parsley, red pepper sauce, broccoli, shredded carrots, onions, shredded cheese and parmesan cheese.  I’m adding biscuits to the dinner to give it just a little bit more substance and make it a little more hearty.  The picture itself looks delish!

Thursday: Talipia Fish Filets with Zesty Lime Sauce and Bowtie Pasta and Sweet Peas

Fish filet with Zesty Lime Sauce

As you are probably aware if you are a frequent reader, we love fish filets, especially tilapia.  This recipe also comes from the Betty Crocker website.  Basically, these tilapia filets are breaded with flour, lemon-pepper seasoning, salt, and bread crumbs.  The sauce that goes on it is made of all natural, fat-free plain yogurt, a little bit of lime zest, lime juice and salt.

So the fish is cooked, then you serve it with the sauce over it.  As a side dish, we’re doing steamed sweet peas (just the plain old steamer kind from the frozen food section) and bow-tie pasta.  Should be a light and deliciously yummy meal.

So, there you have it…hopefully this weekend isn’t an indication of what this week will be like (like how I burned almost everything I tried to make for one of the meals last week).  I hope everything turns out awesomely and that this is a week of fantastic meals.  I am excited to try cooking these meals and hope that the Betty Crocker website is a good new resource.  I went there because I just bought this new book from Amazon.com called Betty Crocker’s 300 Calorie Cookbook.

Betty Crocker 300 Calorie Cook Book

It’s supposed to have 300 meals that can be made for under 300 calories.  It even has a special section in it about cooking for two, so I’m excited to get it and hope it provides lots of good ideas for healthy meals for us.  It has shipped and I should get it by Monday or Tuesday…just in time to get some good ideas about what to make for dinner next week!  I recommend checking it out because it looked pretty cool, and, as one of my favorite cookbook features, had pictures of what the meals SHOULD look like and give suggestions of what you might want to cook with it to make the meal well-rounded and appetizing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu

Leave a Reply

