It’s Almost Mom’s Birthday


I won’t say how old she’ll be, though I doubt she’d care if I did…but I’m so excited about what we’re doing for her birthday.

She joked last night in her comments on my blog post about the menu for this week that she wanted to come to my house for dinner for her birthday.  I thought she was kidding, but I offered to come home and cook her dinner anyway and she said, “I want to come to your house and you cook.” So that’s what we’re doing!

I started thinking last night about what we were going to cook…and by we, I mean me, because our kitchen isn’t really designed for two people to cook at the same time.  So I pretty much have to go solo in the kitchen, not because Tanner can’t cook or isn’t helpful, but because we just don’t have room for us both to be in there at the same time.  I keep dreaming about the wonderful kitchen we’ll have if we ever move…that will be the big sell for me…a great kitchen (like the two below).

I absolutely love this kitchen with the little island made for bar stools and all the luscious counter space and white cabinets. It’s so cute!

This kitchen would serve me well too. I love how the table is right in the kitchen and that it also has room for an island with bar stools. Not to mention the wonderful bit windows and doors!

Anyway…we’re not moving anywhere for a while, so we’ll just have to stick with what we’ve got…which is small, which takes us back to what I’m going to cook for mom for her birthday. haha. 🙂

We looked through our recipes last night…through the stuff that made it into our cook book–mine and Tanner’s of stuff that I make a lot that we really like–but didn’t see anything that really tickled our fancy.  We did settle on pork tenderloin because it’s easy to prepare and has a lot of possible variations and can serve a lot of people.

As of right now, the menu I’m thinking of is Pork Tenderloin with Mustard Sauce Over Egg Noodles and a side of fresh Garlic Green Beans.  For dessert, instead of doing a big cake or a fall-ish pie, since my mom doesn’t really like pumpkin pie, I’ll probably do…and I’m very excited about it…a Banana Pudding Pie to finish the night off.  See the yummy pictures below.

Pork Tenderloin in Mustard Sauce over Egg Noodles (this is, obviously, pictured with broccoli, but I'm pretty sure I'm doing green beans...stay tuned)!

Garlic Green Beans

Banana Pudding Pie...looks like yummy yummy goodness!

Also in the running are two other pork tenderloin dishes…Honey Glazed Pork Tenderloin or Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin (a little nervous about this one because it involves using the grill and I’m not sure if Tanner has ever done a full pork tenderloin on the grill and I know that I haven’t).

Honey Glazed Pork Tenderloin

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

There is also a chance that I might do mashed potatoes or our lemon horseradish potatoes that we like so much.  Tanner reminded me that when mom did my birthday dinner she did a honey mustard meat over egg noodles, so I may end up having to go in a different direction.  What do you guys think?!

At any rate, it should be a good night to hang with mom on Sunday.  Not to mention that Miss Sharon comes on Wednesday, so the house will be clean and lovely.  Our only issue is that we don’t have a lot of seating room at the dinner table…we really just have four chairs around our table and since Katie, Courtney, Mom, Tanner and me will all be there, we’ll have to rig the table up with some metal folding chairs I’m sure, but that’s ok.  The more the merrier really, so we’re excited!  Happy Birthday Momma woo hoo!

****UPDATE****

I think I’m going with this recipe for a crock pot pork tenderloin.

  • 3/4 cup red cooking wine (in the vinegar section)
  • 1 envelope dry onion soup mix
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 can beef broth
  • 4 cloves garlic – minced
  • 1 2-lb pork tenderloin
  1. In a small bowl, combine first 5 ingredients.
  2. Trim fat from tenderloin and place it into the crock pot.
  3. Pour mixed ingredients over top of tenderloin.
  4. Cook for 6 hours on low.
  5. Use juice as gravy for tenderloin and mashed potatoes.

I’ll probably still do the green bean recipe from above to round out the meal.  Pork tenderloin, green beans and mashed potatoes.  Sounds good to me!

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner Menu, Family

2 responses to “It’s Almost Mom’s Birthday

  1. Kathy Taylor

    Can’t WAIT!

  2. April

    I’m so proud of you sis.. You are turning into quite the homemaker! Love you!

Leave a Reply

