A Good Time Was Had By All


Well, we (so far) have survived Halloween weekend.  Mom’s birthday dinner was  a big success…with props from my sister’s foodie girlfriend Courtney…and the battling of a healthy food coma for Tanner and me after everyone left.  (Honestly: if it weren’t for the trick-or-treaters, I’d probably already be in bed.  I’m exhausted. :))

But, like I said, the weekend was a great success.  Zach was pretty surprised by the 30th Birthday Bash thrown for him (Side Note: the reason I waited so long to even really mention any of our Halloween plans was because Zach’s 30th birthday was a surprise party) and the costumes that we saw while we were out on Saturday night were all pretty good.  Not a lot to be disappointed by.

Tanner and me?  We went as a Devil (Devil Lord as the costume was called on the receipt from Halloween Express) and Sookie Stackhouse (circa the season finale where she wore the Bon Temps football tshirt of her brothers and the jean shorts and sneakers as she tried to decide whether or not to kill Russell Edrington).  We mainly hung out with Jini (the glow in the dark fairy former intern of mine), Betty Rubble and Fred Flintstone (Crystal Bell and Louis), and the Mile High Captain and his flight attendant (Brian and Alison Hawxhurst), and, of course, the birthday boy Zach, as Gumby.

Photos of everyone below:

 

The Devil and Sookie

Betty and Fred (Crystal and Louis)

Mile High Captain and his flight attendant (Alison and Brian Hawxhurst)

The Devil and Gumby (the birthday boy)

Me and the Fairy (Jini)

Mean Ole Devil and Sookie...about ready to call it a night.

 

As far as dinner for mom’s birthday, we went with the crock pot pork tenderloin (Another Side Note: I fully intended to take pictures of everything as it was served, but got distracted serving everything and totally forgot.  So what is being uploaded is the best I got.)

image

Pork Tenderloin with Garlic Green Beans and Mashed Potatoes

image

Banana Pudding Pie (cut and served with empty plates in the background)

The green beans were prepared by being placed in a pan covered with water.  The water was brought to a boil and then left rolling for 8 to 10 minutes.  They were then drained and tossed with garlic (1 teaspoon minced), salt (1 teaspoon) and pepper (1/4 teaspoon) then drizzled with olive oil (1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon).

The mashed potatoes were just my basic potatoes with butter, cream cheese, sour cream, a little bit of milk, salt and pepper then whipped.

The pork tenderloin was in the crock pot.  I combined 3/4 cup red cooking wine (also called red wine vinegar), 1 envelope dry onion soup mix, 1 cup water, 14 ounces beef broth, 2 teaspoons minced garlic in the crock pot.  After I trimmed the fat off of two pounds of pork tenderloin (basically I bought two 1.25 pound pork tenderloins) I put it into the crock pot with the mix.  I cooked it about six hours.  To make the gravy, I took a good portion of the sauce from the crock pot and gradually added spoon fulls of all-purpose flour and whisked it until the lumps were gone.  As the sauce was a little bit salty because of the onion soup mix and the vinegar, the flour helped to cut it down a bit to make it a bit less salty as a gravy.

The Banana Pudding Pie was really good as well.  Everyone liked it and it turned out a lot better than I expected.  Silvia, I wanted to try to send some with Tanner for you, but we’re not sure it will last through the weekend! 🙂

So…I’m about to check out and let the food coma take over…at 8:30 p.m. (and I am not even a little bit ashamed).

As far as dinner this week, we’re making do with leftovers from tonight and then tomorrow I’m making chili and cornbread for Monday and then Tuesday we’re going to have Petro’s with the leftovers after our wedding counseling.  On Wednesday I’m helping set up for the Junior League’s Tinsel and Treasure event going on this weekend, so Tanner is on his own with all of our leftovers.  Thursday, we’re going to do a grilled chicken with maccaroni and cheese and then some sort of veggie.  Friday, I’m leaving for my girls weekend and I.COULD.NOT.BE.MORE.EXCITED! So, goodnight to all and Happy Birthday Mom (I love you!).

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner Menu, Family

One response to “A Good Time Was Had By All

  1. Kathy Taylor

    Dinner was fantastic! And Silvia thanks for the birthday wishes and HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you too!

Leave a Reply

