It’s Almost Christmas!


Biltmore at Christmas...I'm going there!

You may have been able to tell by my previous post that I am SO excited about Christmas being right around the corner.  I’m not one to skip right over Thanksgiving (think about all that food! :)), but I will put up our tree RIGHT after Thanksgiving (as in I will put it up on Sunday, Nov. 28)…I’m already listening to Christmas music…a few weeks earlier than normal.  I just can’t help it!  I’m totally getting into the Christmas spirit, and I’m so excited to be spending the holidays with the love of my life.  Since we weren’t living together last year, Christmas was a bit difficult, but it was still fun and this year…now that we’re living together, I have been plotting out our decorations for a few weeks!

To begin, we all know “The stockings were hung by the chimney with care…”  Well, I’m hoping that Saint Nicholas soon will be here, but I don’t have a chimney!  Which means I don’t have a fireplace or a mantle, so where will my stockings go?  I came across this cutesy little thing that I absolutely think I’m going to do!

The Stockings Were Hung...

I came across it at this website called JustBuildStuff.  So I’m thinking I might try it.  I already have to make a stocking for Tanner for Christmas that matches the ones my mom, sister and I have.

Kathy, Abbey and Katie...We Three are now four!

So I’ll be making a trip to AC more eventually to start trying to figure out how to make Tanner’s stocking.  All that I know right now is that it will have this little brown dog on it somewhere!

A little Toby girl

I’m not buying this one, but I am going to make it myself.  It looks just like Toby, right?!  I have to get it done before December 26th because that’s when we’ll be doing Christmas with my mom.  Even if I cut it really close, he will at least have one for next year. 🙂

Also, I’m considering getting these stockings for us (for our house)…but am not totally sure.  I already have two stockings (from Walgreens–so cute though and I have a tree skirt to match), but I’m not sure I’d ever be able to get anything to match down the road (you know, for when we have kids).  These are from Walmart and I could potentially order two and have mine and Tanner’s names put on them and then have two blank ones for the future (to be used now for Winston and Toby, but eventually for children…RK and RE if you were at the Bachelorette Party and played the pre-party game with me.)

Cutie stockings

The ones from Walgreens are cute too, but don’t have our names on them, though I’m sure I could easily have them done.  I need to look at them again to refresh my memory of what they look like.  So far though I haven’t seen something like them in the early Christmas stuff at Walgreens, so we’ll have to wait and see if they’ll work for this year.

I’m also really excited to use this advent calendar that Tanner got me at the end of last year for Christmas.

From Target

I think the plan is to split the numbers (between odd and even) and fill them for each other.  When I got it last year I thought that it was the perfect size for jewelery, but Tanner said he was more thinking that he would fill it with kind words of encouragement and love.  So, I said either one would work! haha. 😉

Also from Target, I have two of these wreaths (I think these are them, but I haven’t seen them in a while) for our windows on the bottom level of the house…doubt I will be able to do anything with the windows on the top floor because we don’t have a ladder.

Target Wreaths

I’m still looking for something to hang on our door…

1 Comment

Filed under Home Repairs

One response to “It’s Almost Christmas!

  1. Kathy Taylor

    ho Ho HO!

Leave a Reply

