Thanksgiving is Coming Quickly


With Thanksgiving day coming up really quickly (it’s Thursday) we decided to try to do a good menu this week.

Unfortunately, I’m sick. BLEH! And spent my morning at the Take Care Clinic at Walgreen’s on Middlebrook Pike.  I got sent home with a negative strep culture and a “magic mouthwash” designed to help numb my throat (but also numbs my whole mouth) and then a nose spray.  I was also instructed to continue my dosage of DayQuil and NyQuil until I felt better. (Here’s hoping).  It’s about right on par for me to be sick right around Thanksgiving…not too out of the ordinary.

Despite the fact that I’m not feeling awesome, we put together (what I think…..is going to be) a pretty good menu for this week.

As I type, Tanner is cooking BBQ Pork Chops on the grill.  With that we’re having broccoli and Macaroni and Cheese.

Tomorrow, we’re having hearty steak and potato soup. The recipe comes from my Betty Crocker 300 Calorie Cook Book.  The recipe called for:

  • 1 pound boneless beef round steak (trimmed of fat and cut into cubes)
  • 1 pound small red potatoes (cut and quartered)..approximately 4 cups
  • 2 medium carrots, chopped (approximately 1 cup)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped (approximately 1/2 cup)
  • 2 cloves garlic or 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 beef bullion cube
  • 36 oz beef broth
  • 1 jar (8 oz) sliced mushrooms, drained

I mixed all this together in the crock pot tonight and put it in the fridge.  Tomorrow before I leave for work I’ll pop it into the heater and cook it all day on low.  When I get home, I’ll cook up some of my corn bread (Tanner loves it) and then mix a 1/2 cup of water and a 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour into a small bowl.  After it is mixed, I’ll pour it into the soup mix in the crock pot, turn the heat up to high and cook about 30 more minutes until it thickens a bit.

Should be wintry and yummy. (Fingers crossed).

Assuming that we will have quite a bit of that left over (it serves 9 with the above recipe), we’ll probably eat that on Tuesday or Wednesday too (and I’ll have some for lunch).

I serving has just 150 calories in it…so not a bad deal.

For the day that we don’t eat soup we’re having Egg Shell Pasta with Dijon-Tomato Sauce.  It is also from the Betty Crocker 300 Calorie Cookbook.

It calls for:

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped (or two tsp minced garlic)
  • 1 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 tsp dried basil leaves
  • 2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon Parmesan cheese

Basically, you heat the oil over medium-high heat in a skillet.  Toss in the onions and garlic and cook until they are both tender.  Then reduce the heat to medium. Stir in the broth, tomato paste, basil and mustard.  Cook it about three minutes, stirring occasionally until it thickens.  Pour this over pasta and top with Parmesan.  The dish contains about 260 calories for a serving.  Not bad, and not too filling to have right before our big Thanksgiving meal.

This year, for my contribution to Thanksgiving, I’m making my sweet potato biscuits and some regular biscuits.  I’m pretty excited about them.  We got all the stuff we needed today at the grocery store (and, I feel kind of like a true Southern woman, because we had most of what I needed for them in the house). 🙂

Anyway…the menu should be pretty good.  I got some Canadian bacon for Tanner at the grocery today so on Thursday morning we can have some eggs and bacon and biscuits like we did at his house last year.  This is his first time to Wartburg for Thanksgiving, so I’m excited about that…and that our trip up will mark the 100 day mark until our wedding.  Seems like not long at all, and we still have A LOT to do.

It’s all getting very exciting.  In fact, big news…MY DRESS IS HERE.  I’m going next Sunday to try it on and make sure everything is good with it.  I’m not going to have my alterations done yet, but I’ll probably go back and have those done in January.  If I’m not any smaller by then, it probably isn’t going to happen, right?! Haha.

Anyway…I’m headed off to another class at My Spirited Art. Today is the “Two Birds” picture.  Hopefully the creative juices will get me feeling better!

Here’s the picture we’re doing:

Two Birds

When I get home…if it’s any good…hopefully it will go in our master bedroom.  The coloring will go great with the bedding we’re hoping to get. 🙂  Wish me luck.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu, Family, Wedding

Leave a Reply

