We Survived Thanksgiving and Black Friday


Well…a lot has happened since my last post last week.

 

Us at the farm

As you know…duh…it was Thanksgiving.  We had some great fun with my family up in Wartburg (picture of us above is inside the cabin–my favorite place to sit while Robbie is cooking dinner so I can watch, learn, help and tease).  It was Tanner’s first time up there and I think that he was surprised at how pretty it was.  We had a HUGE crew up there and the food was, as always, fabulous. My contribution to the meal was a ton of biscuits.  I made my sweet potato biscuits (perfect with butter and maple syrup on top) and then some regular biscuits (this time I made low-calorie biscuits with yogurt instead of shortening and skim milk instead of buttermilk…they were pretty good).

 

I also made us a turkey of our own so we could make turkey sandwiches this week (a great idea!) and this is how it turned out.

A turkey for my turkey.

I basically just brined a small turkey breast and then baked it.  I didn’t have a roasting pan so I rigged one up with a cookie cooling rack and a glass casserole dish.  It worked out pretty well.  I didn’t make gravy because we just wanted sandwiches, but it was still very yummy.

I also finished doing my Christmas decorating.  I finally got my stocking hanger done.  Here is a picture.

 

Stocking Hanger

 

Ps. That third peg there is for a “pet” stocking for Toby and Winston…I just don’t have it yet. Sheesh! Here is the whole thing put together…I’m planning to go back over it today with maybe some light green to make those trees stand out a little more.

Here is what it looks like with the rest of the decorations:

 

Christmas at the Harris House

 

Not too shabby, huh?  I registered for some stocking holders (and some shelves to put them on), but this will work for now.  I think Tanner really liked it.  Right now, we’re trying to figure out how to hang my cute little door hanger on the front door (sticky things not working) and how to hang my wreaths on the front windows…I think Tanner has it figured out, so we’re close to getting those up too.  Other than that, we’re done.

Oh yeah, we’re also done shopping (just one more gift left to get)!  We both finished up our shopping for the advent calendar and I’m pumped to get that going on Wednesday.  I’ll try to keep you guys posted as to what we get if I can, but also want to try to keep it a little bit sacred for just the two of us (bummer, I know! haha :)). All those presents under the tree are things we’re giving for Christmas.  Not one gift under there is from me to Tanner or from Tanner to me and none are for us except for the Bed Bath and Beyond box to the right on the bottom.  That’s our first wedding present from Virginia and Bill McRee.  Don’t be fooled because it’s under the tree…we certainly opened it already, but I wrapped it back up so I could keep track of the ribbon until I get back from next week’s shower with all the bows from that trip.  They got us three of our 12 flatware sets.  We are so pumped to get those…you all know how I feel about flatware!  It is all so beautiful.  I know we picked out the right stuff.

We have our first shower coming up next weekend in Kingsport and I’m excited.  It will be nice to get up there and see Eddie and Silvia since we didn’t have a chance to see them over Thanksgiving with the awkward time of the game and the busy shopping on Friday.

I shopped with mom on Black Friday.  We did a great job and got a ton of Christmas stuff done (like I said, all mine is done).  We started at 6:15 a.m. (that’s when she picked me up at home) and then shopped until about 2 or 3.  In that time, I had to take my car to the shop to get a tire (two tires actually) replaced and that kind of fun stuff, but the day was a success nonetheless.   I also got something to wear to the Kingsport shower.

On another note: my dress is IN!  I don’t remember if I said that or not in an earlier post. But it is in.  I went yesterday with mom to try it on.  It was so cool.  Trying on MY dress and picking out my veil and my hair piece.  Hopefully the hair piece will be in before Dec. 27th when I go do my hair trial with Dana at the shop.  I’ve already got some great ideas about what I want it to look like.  Mom got some good pictures of me in my dress at the store (but I won’t post them here–no way! :)).  Like I said, it was exciting…and it fit pretty good except for that it was a little tight in the back (as in across my back) and I think that might have been because it wasn’t fitted in the bust yet, but it made me think…time to get really serious.  I have just a little over 90 days to get things right.  I went to the gym this morning at 6 a.m. so I could get the week off to a good start.  Those are popping up more and more as the holidays get closer and so I need to just make myself get up in the morning to go to the gym on the days that I can’t go after work.  No excuses.  I missed a whole week of working out (really more because I went from Saturday the 20th to today without working out and that can’t happen (granted I was sick and it was the first time that I haven’t been to the gym at least twice in a week since I joined…but it can’t happen again).  So now we’re kicking it into high gear even if it means a lot of early mornings.

Like I said, I got up early this morning and went to the gym to do a cardio run.  I burned about 260 calories in 30 minutes and felt awesome after I was done…though it was tough to get going and get myself out of bed since it was freezing outside, it was well worth it.  Next time though, I’ll have to get up a little bit earlier 😦 to make sure I have ample time to do what I want to do and get to work on time.  Shouldn’t be too bad I don’t think, especially since I’ll have time to work out again in the evening if I want or have my evenings free at the house to sit and enjoy it being Christmas at home. 🙂  We’ll see.

Anyway, thanks for reading.  I’m so thankful for all of you for taking the time to keep up with what is going on in our lives.  We are super pumped as we just passed the 100 day mark to the wedding.  So things will be picking up like crazy and we’re excited to share it with you all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Wedding, Working Out

Leave a Reply

