He Giveth in Abundance (in the form of a rehearsal dinner location)


Right now…I am VERY happy to say that as we move into the holiday season, we are back where we started from with the rehearsal dinner.  Not as far as location goes, but we are back to having a place booked and a menu set.

I am so thrilled to be able to say that in a frantic search, I thought–as a long shot–I would call Club LeConte to see if they could accommodate us.  If you aren’t from this area, you are probably not aware that Club LeConte is on the top of the First Tennessee building on the 26-28 floors.

The very TIP TOP.

Though it is a private club, it sometimes allows non-members to host events (with a member sponsor).  Luckily, when I called them, their events coordinator–who I no doubt believe took pity on me because she is getting married in just TWO WEEKS–informed me that her manager had encouraged her to go after some of the events that were being relocated because Regas was closing.  She was so sweet on the phone and said I could just send her my agreement with Regas and they would do what they could to match or honor it.

We would most likely be using the Cumberland Room (the back room in the image below).

Club LeConte

So needless to say, I am ecstatic that this worked out.  I went over and met with the event coordinator today and discussed menu items and pricing.  I paid a deposit and set up a payment schedule. Tonight, I’ll begin working on our new rehearsal dinner invitations for our wedding party and out of town family who would be attending.  No big deal, just changing a photo and making a couple quick edits.  (Thank goodness Vista Print is so easy to work with!).

What I think may be the most exciting is that they are honoring our menu.  So even though they don’t serve the two dishes we had selected from Regas, they are going to make them for us anyway (and probably a very delicious vegetarian spaghetti).  Unfortunately, they are not going to make the Grady’s Goodtimes Chocolate Bar Cake, though they do have a wonderfully decadent chocolate cake on their menu.  So we’re still trying to decide if we want chocolate cake or if we’d rather go another direction. I’m also trying to find the recipe to the Grady’s Goodtimes Chocolate Bar Cake…so we’ll see.  This is the closest I’ve come so far—> http://recipes.robbiehaf.com/G/410.htm. It seems legit, but I’m just not sure that it’s right…or that Club LeConte would be able/willing to make it for us.

Anyway…I am glad to have that booked…it means I can mark lots of little boxes BACK off my to-do list and move on to other things.  Like picking out wedding bands.  If you’re interested, here’s what I’ve found at our trusty Markman’s. I love, Love, Love it!

Ka-Bling!

I think most everyone has seen my ring, but this is the band I found that I like.  You’ll notice it doesn’t match exactly…but it’s pretty close.  What I love about it is that it is a little more substantial than the band on my engagement ring, so that if I ever needed or had to wear my wedding band without my engagement ring, I would be able to have something a little more noticeable than if it were the exact same as my engagement ring.  We’re going to purchase our bands after Christmas (so they will get in here in time for the wedding–Markman’s said that if we wait until after the first of the year, they might not get here in time–EEK!).  Tanner is pretty easy to please in this category, we just have to find him the right thing (and we’re close), and put the order in.  I can’t wait.  We’ll probably also do engraving (just our wedding date) on the inside of them.  Cute, huh?

On Christmas we will be 70 days away from the wedding, which is CUH-RAY-ZEE to me.  It seems like just last week we were eating at Regas and not very long ago that we took our first trip together.  This year has just flown by and been filled with lots of laughter and fun.  Even when I am stressed out and nervous about how everything will turn out for the wedding, I am certain that it will be wonderful (because it will be) and get even more excited about how awesome it will be to be married–MURRIED–to Tanner. 🙂  It will be awesome and I am so excited about the married life we will share.

And….also, our microwave is finally installed! What a great day this is!

Feast your eyes on this (a gift from Tanner’s parents at our Kingsport shower):
image

1 Comment

Filed under Wedding

One response to “He Giveth in Abundance (in the form of a rehearsal dinner location)

  1. Pingback: 2010 Was a Good (Blog) Year | Happy2Say

Leave a Reply

