The Invitations Are Ready to Be Mailed!


Today was a big.BIG day.  After a fun night at Shane’s house watching football, playing games and visiting with friends, we got to sleep late and had NO plans for the day since we went to the grocery store yesterday.  So what did I do? I got up this morning and started putting together the wedding invitations.  I didn’t imagine that it would take too terribly long because putting them half way together (stuffing them and putting the actual invite together) only took about one afternoon (THE fateful afternoon of the LSU disaster).

Boy was I wrong!  The whole time I was working on these with Tanner today, I was thanking God for a good friend like Mary who worked so hard to address all of our envelopes and label all of our tabs.  I only had to do about three or four myself for friends and family who had changed addresses since I sent the list to Mary in November and after doing that, I was even more thankful that she did that for us.  It had to have been a huge job, not to mention that they weren’t just regular addressed envelopes, they were someone else’s wedding invitations. At any rate, I am thankful beyond words for the gift she gave us.  It was a huge help.

Another huge help was that Tanner jumped right in to help me this morning.  He got up and made me a wonderful breakfast of scrambled eggs, bacon and an English muffin and then started stamping and sealing all the envelopes.  After he caught up with me, he took a break to cook dinner too.  It was awesome.  And, not to mention, that today was laundry day, so he did that too.  I am seriously so lucky to have such a helpful and loving fiance (soon to be husband, because there’s no turning back now)! haha.

Here’s Tanner helping me:

Tanner happily stamping and sealing envelopes and putting them in the "to be sent" box. You can see that Toby was seriously over the project for the day. She was annoyed that there was no ball involved at all.

So after a whole day of stuffing envelopes, using scrapbooking dots to put everything together and a green sponge to seal all the envelopes, this is what we ended up with:

252 invites to be mailed this week.

Originally, I wasn’t going to mail the invites until Friday, but at the rate things have been going, I’m just going to get them out of our hands as quickly as I can.  Etiquette says you should mail them 6-8 weeks before the wedding and we’re within that time frame AND Tanner wants to get them out as soon as possible because he’s concerned that there will be issues with the hotel room blocking. After the smooth sailing for just about everything that’s happened so far (sans Regas closing and the post office being out of purple pansy LOVE stamps and Katie’s shoes being too big and whatever else has gone semi wrong), I can’t imagine why he would be worried! 😉

In all reality, all the things that have gone wrong have been totally minor and in the grand scheme of things, don’t matter at all.  We are so happy and the fact that Tanner was willing to help me out with invitations today even though there was a whole day of NFL Playoff games going on just proves what I already knew: I am so blessed and have found a wonderful man to call mine for the rest of my life.

Also, even in the wake of the Rehearsal Dinner location disaster, I sent the recipe I found for Regas’ Grady’s Goodtimes Chocolate Bar Cake to the event planner at Club LeConte, my guardian angel Erin, and she said their chef would make it for me…so our dinner menu is exactly the same as what we had planned to have at Regas and just as special as we had hoped it would be  even though we won’t actually be eating AT Reags.  We’ll be about as close as we can get without actually being in the restaurant and that’s about all we can ask for.

So, now, everything is rolling RIGHT along.  Everyone (except the flower girls) has been fitted for their bridesmaids dresses and the boys are starting to get fitted for tuxedos. I have ALL my stuff in the store except for my veil and have a very good idea as to how I’m going to do my hair.  I’ve even ordered my garter and Tanner and I have both ordered gifts for our wedding party.  We still have to determine what we’re going to get the flower girls, but I’m thinking probably a cute little necklace of some kind. I’ve got a little bit of stuff to do this week (and a lot of stuff going on at work), but we’re doing awesome and the wedding will be here before we know it (EEK!).

Tanner and I have tickled ourselves quite a bit throughout all this about what gets us emotional in planning for the wedding.  For me, it was writing up our vows to give to our pastor.  For him, it was picking out the songs for the DJ.  We’ve both had a few others, but the idea of it all is overwhelming for us and even though we were exhausted after putting together all those invites, we couldn’t help but be amazed at how blessed we were to be lucky enough to have that many people who want to share our big day with us.  We seriously CANNOT wait.

So, for now, that’s all I’ve got…except for a little news on the tile…

We finally got someone to come to do a quote for us.  He told us a price right around what we were expecting if we’d purchase the tile and the grout and he’d do everything else.  We’re having one other person come tomorrow around lunch time.  We really liked the guy that came over the weekend and would like to use him, but we’re going to wait and see how close he is to this other guy’s quote.  If they’re even in the same ballpark, we’re going to try to see if we can get the first guy to come down just a little bit. (I say “we” but I really mean “Tanner” because bargaining and haggling makes me very nervous!) So, hopefully by the end of the week we’ll have something booked to get our tile done.  AND to top it off, I get to use the tile that I found that was discontinued. I’m so excited I could die. I can’t wait for it to be done.  It’s going to look amazing! I’m going to have them line the “wine” tiles up horizontally in the design, but keep them separated by a tile or two. It’s seriously going to be great.

So, with all that good news and excitement, I’m off to bed.  And yes, I know it’s 8:15 p.m., but I’m exhausted and I don’t care if you judge me! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Friends, Home Repairs, Wedding

Leave a Reply

