The Invitations Are In The Mail!


Well, with the winter weather mix we got over the weekend and Monday, the invitations didn’t quite make it to the mail.  But today…dum dum dum…I had Tanner bring the box to me on his way to work (he didn’t go in until 10 a.m. because of the weather) and I took them to the post office this afternoon.  I carried the box into the downtown post office and handed it over to a (surprisingly) very nice woman.  She did take a couple out of the box to weigh them to make sure that I had the right postage on them, though.  As she was doing that I assured her that I had put one all together and did a practice run so that it would WITHOUT.A.DOUBT. be absolutely right with no postage problems.

After I dropped the invitations off, I went to Magpies to do a consult on our “cake” tower.  If you didn’t know, we’re not doing a real wedding cake cake.  We’re doing mini cupcakes from Magpies on a cake tower that will be topped off by a single tier of wedding cake that Tanner and I can cut and then take home to have on our anniversary.

Here is the inspiration I used today when I went to the decorator:

This is what ours will most probably look like (minus the purple frosting because its a wedding and not a four-year-old's birthday party). She's even going to use those little silver balls.

 

I told her that we weren’t too worried about what the cake looked like coming from them.  We knew it’d be beautiful and really wanted to give them the freedom to do what they’re good at.  I like the abstract idea she gave me today and I feel really comfortable with it.  I know it will be beautiful and I’m thrilled that we are getting exactly what we want.  Also fun are the other flavors we’ll be getting for our guests.

The cupcakes on the “cake” will be vanilla and chocolate with vanilla butter cream icing (and so will the cake). All the other cupcakes will be displayed on the table around the cake and will include: Chocolate Strawberry, Creamy Caramel, Chocolate Caramel, Red Velvet, Pistachio and Peanut Butter.  Those will be decorated as Magpies usually does, not sticking with any real color scheme or design qualifications.  They’ll be the beautiful yummy Magpie’s cupcake mini’s we all know and love.  So get excited about that.

Other than that, we’re just poking along with the wedding planning.  My garter got delivered to Mom’s house yesterday and now I’m completely ready to go.  My dress, sash, shoes, garter, hair accessory, jewelry and all are in.  My veil should be in soon.  So, let’s get this show on the road! 🙂 I seriously can’t wait…and I also can’t wait to be in St. Kitts.

Thanks to Buzz Goss who suggested we spend a day in St. Barts if we can (only a 30 minute boat ride away from St. Kitts).  I think we’re looking forward to that and trying to figure out how to work it in.  Right now, in St. Kitts, it’s dry (not humid) and 81 degrees, and feels like 89.  Take me there soon!  I can hardly wait to be laying here:

Leave a comment

Filed under Wedding

Leave a Reply

