It’s DIY Time!


Ok…so up until now, I’ve pretty heavily avoided any DIY bridal projects. Beyond the typical “making the rehearsal bouquet out of the (unbroken) ribbons from showers” I haven’t really thought must of the DIY.  I’ve toyed with the idea a bit, but then always decided to go a different, simpler direction. Until now!

I’ve been a little discouraged about the look and cost of boxes for cards for the gift table at the ceremony and reception. I wanted something that would be cute, sturdy, safe and practical without costing a fortune.

These below, from Oriental Trading Company, were sort of ok…and in the right price range…but just, not quite what I was looking for.

But you get the jist…I was looking for something cute that matched our color scheme. So I set about trying to figure out how to make my own. A search of Google images showed some pretty interesting (and inspiring) stuff, but knowing that my time was running out and that I didn’t want to spend that much to put this together the ones below were just not something I was going to try to tackle.

 

This was getting a little more into my comfort zone.

The picture below (the one directly above and the other cake shaped boxes above) gave me an idea…

 

Plus, the lady that did the one above was kind enough to put a YouTube video on her website explaining exactly how to most easily wrap the box. So, I went to AC Moore, picked up some ribbon and a set of three card board hat boxes. I went to Target and found some lavender, paisley, glittery wrapping paper on clearance, borrowed a glue gun and some glue sticks from my mom and set to work last night.

Now, as I was doing this I thought that I should take pictures along the way and post how to do it (like my good friend Lindsey Howd does on her blog Novemberly Ever After)…but I wasn’t sure it was going to be a success and I was more focused on finishing the project than making sure you guys (who probably won’t ever need to make one) could figure out how to do it. If you’re ever in the market for one of these, I’ll be happy to show you how…or you can watch this video and figure it out on your own like I did.

Obviously, she used some pretty cute scrapbooking type paper and was able to find a tall cylinder hat box of sorts. I looked for that type of box after seeing the video, but when I came up with only the trio of hat boxes, I settled for that and decided to make it work.  Gone are the moments for painstaking searching for things that won’t affect the outcome of the wedding (as this project seemed less important than the fact that we haven’t picked up our marriage license yet and other things of the like).  It was my assumption that I could make this card box work and that whatever it came out looking like would be fine (unless it was just really awful).

So, here’s the (almost) finished product.

Still needs a couple of things...

Last night, I was trying to figure out how to make a bow out of the 71 inches of purple ribbon I have left.  My thoughts were to have the bottom of the bow peeking out from the bottom of the card and then the “bows” of the bow sticking out the sides of the “Cards” card. After showing it to some friends at work, I’ve decided that I’m going to put a monogram “H” on the top in the purple wrapping paper.  I’ll put it right in the middle and then cut the slot out again.

 

This is my pattern for the H and I'd do it in the same paper that the bottom portions of the boxes are wrapped in.

I may still do the bow (and have the “Cards” card act as the middle knot of that) or I may scrap it. I may also try to find some purple cardstock to put behind the “Cards” card just to give it a little more depth.

 

Either way, if you bring a card to the wedding…this is where its beautiful new home will be. What do you think? Is a show on DIY in my future? (Probably not, but at least I can hold my own.) Also, take note of the wall in the background…you can see where my painting project ended last weekend (probably not to be resumed until we get back from the honeymoon unless I get a wild hair this weekend and try to do a little more).

Updated pictures of the card box to come this weekend when I get more glue and tape!

1 Comment

Filed under Wedding

One response to “It’s DIY Time!

  1. I randomly found your blog under a DIY search and have to say the card box looks great! I’ve been thinking about what I want to do for my card box and this seems simple enough to do and looks awesome. Thanks for sharing the video for instructions. Looks like I have another thing to add to my to-do list!

Leave a Reply

