We’re Back


I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted ANYTHING and I know I’ve started the last few blogs with, “I know it’s been a while…” but the lack of blog is truly evidence of how busy we’ve been. Since we got back from the honeymoon, we’ve been in a tizzy to get the house organized.

We were so blessed to have gifts waiting on us when we got back, but with that came the need to catalog (for thank you notes), unpackaging (but also trying to keep our house from being overrun with boxes of things for the trash), then finding a home for everything. Well, we’re finally done finding a home for (almost) everything! We’ve put up shelving in the garage and really gotten that organized. We’ve finished some of our major home projects (like painting the downstairs and taking care of the hallway and stairwell and laundry room). We’ve started painting our bedroom. We had someone come and paint our shutters. We’ve hung new blinds on every window. We’ve got our new bedding put out. We replanted the front yard. We’ve rearranged some furniture and are just now starting to feel in control of our house again.  It looks great!

So, though it’s been a long time coming, we’re finally starting to feel in charge again. We are so grateful for all the love and support our friends and family have shown us. Our house is truly a home now and we have all of you to thank for helping enable us to make that happen. From the wonderful home wares (like picture frames and candles) to storage (like shelving bought with gift cards) to paint and tools, we can only offer thanks to all of our friends and family for taking such good care of us. It feels amazing and we are thankful everyday for everything we have.

At this point, all that is really standing between us and having the whole inside of the house done is finishing painting our bedroom. After that, I could touch up the trim, door frames and doors as I felt like it. And, of course, we have to hang pictures and art (but are waiting to order wedding pictures until we get our disks). After that, on my list, is to pressure wash the house and have our front porch done (which will hopefully happen soon).  Mom would say that we need to stain the deck, but we’ll probably continue to put that off. 🙂

Aside from working on getting the house organized, I’ve been really busy at work. I LOVE my new job and enjoy the challenge it provides. I’m excited to go to work everyday AND have actually managed to stay OUT of the stores beyond what my job requires. I mean, I’ve done a little shopping (who are we kidding), but on pay-day I get paid instead of getting a note from my boss that says, “You owe the mall this much money!”

Hopefully now that things are settling down a bit we’ll be able to keep you updated more, but I can make no promises for now. We’re embarking upon wedding season and will be attending quite a few this summer. We’ve got some trips planned and will be busy through the summer, but, like I said…I’ll try to do better. I know it’s been a long time and that you also haven’t even seen al the honeymoon blogs yet. I’m working on those, but it’s taking time!

Thanks for being patient and understanding. We’ve been working hard and still have a few things to do before we’re back to “normal” and, like I said, I love my job and so that really cuts down on the time I’ve got to update and that’s good news for sure!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Friends, Home Repairs, Wedding

Leave a Reply

