Menu Monday


A return of my menu posting because it keeps me excited about what I’m cooking and what we’re eating. It also gives me a reason to post again as I’m trying to get back in the swing of things (cheat: I wrote this yesterday and set it to post today…sneaky, sneaky! :))

Saturday: Portobello Mushroom Burgers, Potato Salad and Baked Beans

Portobello Mushroom Burger with provolone Cheese

Tanner wanted something vegetarian that wasn’t pasta-centric and I’ve been eager to try some burger alternatives because Tanner doesn’t love burgers on the grill at home unless it’s a major cookout (coming soon people, we promise…) and I do. So as a test, we’ tried these mushroom burgers because we both love mushrooms and thought they’d be a perfect combo of burgers on the grill and vegetarian for summer. The recipe came from allrecipes.com. The mushrooms were marinated in then basted with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, minced garlic, basil , oregano and salt and pepper.

I did store-bought potato salad and I did canned baked beans (Bush’s, of course) but updated them like my mom usually does (with ketchup, syrup, Worcestershire and some mustard).

 

Sunday: No meal. Father’s Day in Kingsport.

Since we were in Kingsport for the day, had a big brunch with Eddie and Silvia at Metaview then went to visit his granddaddy. Even though we were STUFFED, we grabbed Pal’s on the way home as a dinner treat.

Monday: Meatloaf, Peas and Mashed Potatoes

You didn’t think I could do a menu update again without including meatloaf did you?! No seriously, since Tanner will be out almost two days this week, I am making these so that I can have sandwiches for lunch and dinner while he’s gone. No pictures here unless I do some great plating, but this is one of our favorite meals and we don’t care what you think!

Tuesday: See above.

Wednesday: Manicotti and Best Ever Green Salad

This isn't my manicotti, but it looks close!

I’m making Manicotti for the Loher’s when they get home so they will have something they can freeze or eat right away.  All they have to do is heat it up in the oven for an easy peasy, delicious dinner. Tanner loves this manicotti so I’m going to make it while he’s gone and deliver half to the Loher’s and the heat up the other half for him when he gets home. This is the perfect meal for these two purposes because typically I have to make so much manicotti when I make it that it’s too much for us to eat alone and we basically end up throwing it out. This way, we’ll have a half portion for us and a half portion for the Loher’s so that they won’t be overwhelmed either.

I’m not really making the Best Ever Green Salad, but we’re getting salad and I have some dressing still left in the fridge and some bacon bits, so I’ll probably buy some almonds to throw in there and then toss some of the left over peas in there (if there are any) and it’s basically the same thing!

 

Thursday: Nummy, Nummy Leftovers

I’ll have so much food left over by this time that we’ll just eat left overs. I should eat great for lunch this week too with the leftovers from late last week that I still have in the fridge. 🙂 Pefecto!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Dinner Menu

3 responses to “Menu Monday

  1. I am going to need to get that manicotti recipe from you!!!!

  2. Debi Johnson

    Hey Abbey Doodle!!! how do I get on your Happy to say website now that I cannot get it from your wedding blog! Love your posting and menu selections!!! Love you DEB

Leave a Reply

