Everything is Fine


So, as you read yesterday after I told you how smart I was, I had my scope today. (Side note: this is a personal blog, and this post itself is a bit of an overshare, but hey…that’s what you get. :))

I have to say I was pretty nervous. No reason in general, just nervous to find out what they were going to say and what the procedure was going to be like. I’ve had this same procedure done before, but I don’t really remember it.

Since I scheduled it, I’ve had a couple of dreams about it and then as of this week, haven’t been sleeping that well.

Well the procedure was today. Very early. I had to be there about 7:30 a.m. which was kind of a crock because my procedure didn’t really get going until about 8:30. We sat around in the waiting room, they called me back to talk about insurance and get Tanner’s info so they knew who would be taking me home and then gave me a restaurant buzzer so that they could call me back. It went off shortly after they gave it to me and I was kind of stressed because I had literally just sat down next to Tanner to talk about the insurance stuff when they buzzed me back and, as I’m sure most of you know, with one of those buzzer things going off in your hand it’s easy to get a little flustered. Which is exactly what happened, I was talking to him, the buzzer went off and I started to freak a little bit, but I told him bye, he gave me a kiss and I headed back.

They took me to an exam room and had me sign some papers about going under anesthesia and then put me in another waiting room for about 5 minutes. Then they took me back to the nurses station, laid me on a bed and covered me up with a sheet. Then they came and stuck my arm so the anesthesiologist could put that stuff in me. After that, I laid there for a few minutes before they rolled me into the procedure room. Then the anesthesiologist came in, had me get situated for the procedure, stuck me (but not before everyone made fun of the fact that I was wearing Ugg boots and also had socks on–hey, I didn’t want to get cold and I wanted to be comfy :)) and I headed off to sleep.

The next thing I know, I’m waking up in a different room with Tanner standing beside me. I cried when I saw him and apparently said, “I’m so sad you’re here.” He said, “Sad?” I said, “Glad. I’m so glad you’re here.” It was funny because I was just so overwhelmed to have him there and that everything went ok. Also, the nurse told him I woke up spouting off his phone number (which I had already given them) and then also gave his email address “in case they couldn’t find him.” But find him they did and he was there when I woke up, which was an amazing feeling.

The results?

I have a hatial hernia and possibly some stomach bacteria that they biopsied. If the biopsy comes back positive (or negative, which ever is the bad one) then they’ll give me some antibiotics for that. According to the Mayo Clinic, a hiatal hernia occurs when part of your stomach pushes upward through your diaphragm. Your diaphragm normally has a small opening (hiatus) that allows your food tube (esophagus) to pass through on its way to connect to your stomach. The stomach can push up through this opening and cause the hiatal hernia.

A hiatal hernia occurs when the upper part of your stomach bulges through your diaphragm into your chest cavity.(The hiatal hernia above is the stomach in the diaphragm.)

BUT, these are, apparently, pretty common and not much to worry terribly about. The pamphlet we picked up does say that it can be common in people who have had a baby and people over 40 (which I have not and am not) also people who are obese and smokers (again, not me), but, like I said, not much to worry about.

Essentially, in most cases, a small hiatal hernia doesn’t cause problems and you may never know you have it. A larger one will allow food and stomach acid to creep back up into your esophagus (which is what I sometimes experience…called regurgitation).

My doctor prescribed a medicine for me to take before dinner every night and encouraged I do the best I can not to eat within three hours of going to bed.

She also gave me a list of things I can do to try to alleviate the acid reflux issue (which is a pretty crappy diet anyway)…no chocolate, no peppermint, no acidic juices, no caffeine (she said this is a good one for me), no alcohol, lose weight and exercise (which I’m already trying to do) and a few other things that have to do with diet and eating…like a higher protein, lower fat diet with several smaller meals every day rather than a few large ones.ย  She did say though that I can still have these things, but that I need to work on them being the exception and not the rule. I said, “What about football season?” She said, “That’s the exception. Just know that you control how you feel. Follow the rules and you’ll feel fine. Take a couple of days off and you’ll feel a little icky. It’s not a huge deal.” Fair enough, I thought. She did say though that when I go back in four weeks, she does expect that most of my issues will have alleviated themselves with the diet and the medicine, so here’s hoping.

Other good (and surprising) news? There was no damage to my esophagus (which I was almost certain would be in terrible shape).

On the way home from the doctor, Tanner stopped and let me pick up a Subway and some Sprite Zero for the day. He dropped me off and tucked me in and headed back to work. I watched some TV and slept most of the day. It was a pretty easy day. My throat was a lot sore this morning after the procedure and I’m a little sore in my chest area (feels like someone was maybe jamming a camera around in there, but who knows). I didn’t have a huge appetite today, which was surprising considering I didn’t eat a ton yesterday and had to fast last night. But I did manage to eat my Subway, not because I was hungry, but because I thought I should eat something. Probably go out with Tanner in a little bit for dinner and to pick up my prescription. Even though I’ll still be taking it easy tonight.

Thanks everyone for the well wishes. It feels great to have so many people caring and rooting for me.

Love you all.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Everything is Fine

  1. So glad everything is ok!! And sorry you had to get poked and probed. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ That is no fun…although I’m only taking your word for it! ๐Ÿ™‚ Keep relaxing this weekend and feel better!

  2. Mollie Bailey

    I am glad to hear that the procedure went well. I also loved how you asked “What do I do for football season??”

  3. Morgan Renfro

    I’m excited to say (because I’m a nerd) that I knew what a hiatal hernia was before I read your explanation! Hopefully I pass PA school ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad everything went well!! I can’t wait to see you at the cookout!

Leave a Reply

