Menu Monday


I’m pretty pumped about the menu this week (mainly because last week was such a great success…minus the eggplant pizzas…sorry, Wes).

I didn’t put the potatoes we had with the Whiskey Dijon BBQ Skirt Steak on the blog last week because I was going to make them like I usually do. Fatty, full of butter and cream cheese (you know…delicious), but because I’m really trying to be a stickler on my eating (not necessarily dieting, but counting calories and watching portions), I tried to find a skinny version. Now, the last ones I made that were skinny (may even be on the blog), were just OK and I ended up adding in the butter and cream cheese and sour cream to get them where I wanted them to be (you know…delicious), but I decided to try to avoid that this time. So I searched around a bit and came across this recipe from fitness magazine.

I figured I couldn’t go wrong because they were called “Best Spuds: Healthy Mashed Potatoes” and they looked pretty good.

Tasty looking, right?!?!

Well, you can see the recipe on the website, but I will say…they were delicious (I used thyme because that’s what was in the Whiskey Dijon BBQ Sauce that we were having with it, but you can use rosemary or oregano)…I mean, really good. I didn’t make thing specifically to the recipe…I made mine with the recipe adjustments below.

  • 8 teaspoons minced garlic (because I didn’t have time to roast garlic or want to mess with it)
  • 2 medium-sized potatoes, peeled and quartered (because I only wanted it to serve two to four people so we didn’t have the options to go back for more)
  • 1/3 cup light sour cream
  • 1/4 cup fat-free milk
  • 1 tablespoon snipped fresh oregano, rosemary, or thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

With this recipe, one serving (one-fourth of the batch) has just 94 calories, 18g carbs, 2g fat, 2g protein! So low enough you could go back for more if you wanted! They were even more tasty with the BBQ sauce over it like a gravy.

So this week, I’m making more skinny potatoes, but trying another recipe I found in one of mom’s Taste of Home magazines.

Monday: Broiled Parmesan Tilapia, Garlic-Dill Mashed Potatoes and Canned Peas.

Both the tilapia and mashed potatoes recipes came from Taste of Home magazine. The recipe is for members only (I know, I’m so “in”), but here is a photo of the dish.

Broiled Parmesan Tilapia

The fish has Parmesan cheese, reduced-fat mayo, lemon juice, butter, minced garlic, minced basil and seafood seasoning. I’m going to serve these with the garlic-dill smashed potatoes. They are similar to the recipe above, but a little different.

  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon Olive Oil
  • 3/4 pound red potatoes, cubed
  • 2 tablespoons fat-free milk
  • 2 tablespoons reduced-fat sour cream
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 teaspoon snipped fresh dill
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • Dash cayenne pepper

It just makes two servings (3/4 cup each) and they have just 165 calories, 2g fat, 30g carbs, 3g fiber and 6g protein. Sounds good right? I love dill so I’m enjoying using it a bit.  Serving this up with canned peas…easy.

Tuesday: Provolone Chicken Pizza.

This looks tasty to me and I’m looking forward to making it. I am going to have to make adjustments to it because it does have tomatoes on it (whole, fresh ones) and Bubba won’t like that, so I’ll adjust his side a little bit.

Lots of tomatoes.

I’ll make Tanner’s half with just the chicken and cheese and a few green onions (and maybe some pepperoni and olives). It’s got a thin whole wheat pizza crust, reduced fat ranch salad dressing, reduced fat provolone cheese, shredded cooked chicken breast (which I went ahead and cooked up and shredded on Sunday), a thinly sliced tomato, green onions and Parmesan cheese (are you noticing a trend this week? Low-cal! Haha…and Parmesan).

Wednesday: Black Beans and Rice (I swear!)

No news here, just trying to get this on the menu and keep it from getting bumped!

Thursday: Sloppy Joes and Sweet Potato Fries

No real news here either, just an easy meal before we get to the big cookout this weekend. Should just be a tasty easy meal that will be low in calories but high in yummy!

Thanks for checking in. I had to do the menu myself this week because Bubba is out-of-town (which also meant that I had to shop myself…ahhh! and miss brunch…double ahhh!), but I picked him up last night at the airport and was so glad to have him home! Toby was too! Winnie was indifferent (as cats tend to be).

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu

Leave a Reply

