Not So Menu Monday


Today is “Not So Menu Monday” because we don’t really have a menu this week.

We spent about what we spend on a normal weekly grocery trip for the cookout and so were trying to make do with what we’ve got this week. After having lunch with Shaun on Sunday at Roosters, we stopped by Food City to pick up a little bit of hamburger meat and some potatoes (“Ma, we’re having meatloaf!”).

We did soup and open-faced cheese toast for dinner last night since our schedules were so off from napping all day.

Tonight, we’re having meatloaf and will try, for the rest of the week to make due on meatloaf sandwiches and other leftovers in the fridge. Don’t be too disappointed because my meatloaf is awesome and the new mashed potato recipe I’m using is pretty good…not the garlic-dill mashed potatoes, but the ones we had before…the Healthy Mashed Potatoes.

To keep you interested, I’ll provide you with two other recipes I used this weekend that got rave reviews. Both are great cookout sides and came from Taste of Home magazine. They were perfect for the cookout. I tasted both with my dinner at the cookout, but couldn’t keep them for later in the week because after sitting out from like 4p to midnight, I didn’t think (because they were mayonnaise-based) that they would be safe to keep. I might’ve been wrong, but I wanted to play it safe.

The first (and this is for you, Sharon) is the makeover loaded baked potato salad. I basically followed their recipe, but also added a little of my own flair based on what Tanner and I like.

Makeover Loaded Baked Potato Sald

Here’s the recipe…it’s supposed to make you feel like you’re eating a loaded baked potato salad without all the calories and fat!

  • 2-1/2 pounds small unpeeled red potatoes, cubed
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 hard-cooked eggs, chopped (*I left these out because I didn’t have time to cook them…we didn’t miss them.)
  • 4 bacon strips, cooked and crumbled (*I used the pre-cooked Oscar Meyer bacon you can do in the microwave.)
  • 1/2 cup shredded reduced-fat cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup chopped sweet onion (*I used a handful of minced onion.)
  • 1 dill pickle, chopped (*I used a whole dill pickle.)
  • 1/2 cup reduced-fat sour cream (*I used Light Daisy)
  • 1/2 cup fat-free mayonnaise (*I used Kraft Olive Oil Mayo.)
  • 1 teaspoon prepared mustard (*I used regular yellow mustard.)

You quarter the potatoes and then place them into a 15-in. x 10-in. x 1-in. baking pan coated with cooking spray and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake, uncovered, at 425° for 30-35 minutes or until tender. Cool completely on a wire rack. In a large bowl, combine the potatoes, eggs, bacon, cheese, onion and pickle. In a small bowl, combine the sour cream, mayonnaise and mustard; pour over the potato mixture and toss to coat. It makes 12 servings (3/4 cup each: 133 calories, 4 g fat, 2 g saturated fat), 45 mg cholesterol, 340 mg sodium, 19 g carbohydrate, 2 g fiber, 6 g protein) and it was delicious!

The second recipe is the Makeover Creamy Coleslaw.

The recipe calls for the following:

  • 1 package (15 ounces) coleslaw mix
  • 3/4 cup fat-free mayonnaise (*I used Kraft Olive Oil Mayo.)
  • 1/3 cup reduced-fat sour cream (*I used Light Daisy.)
  • 1/4 cup sugar (*I used sucra.)
  • 3/4 teaspoon seasoned salt (*I used garlic salt.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon celery seed

You just put the coleslaw mix in a large bowl. In a small bowl, combine the remaining ingredients and then pour it over the coleslaw mix and toss to coat. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving. It yields 8 servings (3/4 cup equals 85 calories, 2 g fat (1 g saturated fat), 6 mg cholesterol, 358 mg sodium, 16 g carbohydrate, 3 g fiber, 2 g protein) and IT is ALSO very delicious. Very tasty on a hot dog or hamburger (or just on the side of it). It looked great in my triffle bowl.

You should certainly give them a try!

As for my meatloaf recipe…you’ll never get it! (Well maybe you will eventually…but not this post). Be jealous that you won’t be having delicious meatloaf sandwiches for lunch or dinner tomorrow!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu

Leave a Reply

