We’re Up.


Ok…so as some as you may have seen in a Facebook status update, Tanner and I watched the Disney Pixar movie Up last night. It came out in 2009. The film centers on an elderly widower named Carl Fredricksen and an earnest young Wilderness Explorer (think: Boy Scout) named Russell who fly to South America by floating in a house. The film has received overwhelmingly positive reviews and grossed $731 million worldwide. Up won Golden Globe Awards for Best Animated Feature Film and Best Original Score (music) from the Hollywood Foreign Press Association. The film received five Academy Award nominations, including Best Picture, making it the second animated film in history to receive such a nomination (just behind Beauty and the Beast).

Typically, I like (but not love) these Disney Pixar animated movies. I think my favorite might have been Monsters, Inc., but beyond that…seeing them once is really all I need. Yesterday, we were recovering from the cookout, sleeping on and off all day and just taking it generally easy. We (read: I) watched a lot of Chopped on the Food Network and then napped, but around dinner time (we knew we needed to eat) I was flipping through the channels, basically waiting for True Blood to come up, not sure if I’d be able to stay awake long enough to see it (or sit through it). So I clicked it over to Up. You’d think Tanner wouldn’t love these movies, but he does. They’re perfect for a non-thinking, recovery Sunday. So we watched it.

It started like this:

What you see in the clip (in case you don’t feel like watching it…but you should), is young Carl Fredricksen–the main character–who is a shy, quiet boy who idolizes renowned explorer Charles F. Muntz. He is saddened to learn, however, that Muntz has been accused of fabricating the skeleton of a giant bird he had claimed to have discovered in Paradise Falls, South America. Muntz vows to return there to capture one alive. One day, Carl befriends an energetic and somewhat eccentric tomboy named Ellie, who is also a Muntz fan. She confides to Carl her desire to move her clubhouse—an abandoned house in the neighborhood—to a cliff overlooking Paradise Falls, making him promise to help her.

Carl and Ellie eventually get married and grow old together in the restored house, working as a balloon vendor and a zookeeper, respectively. Unable to have children, they repeatedly pool their savings for a trip to Paradise Falls, but end up spending it on more pressing needs (flat tires, broken bones, home repairs, etc.). An elderly Carl finally arranges for the trip, but Ellie suddenly becomes ill and dies, leaving him alone. (SO sad, I know…I was bawling twelve minutes into the movie.)

The part at about :58 in the clip below, my loving husband and best friend said, “That will be us someday, Bubba.” (Awww.) If you didn’t watch the clip above (you should’ve because it was so adorable, BUT), you should definitely watch the one below. (SPOILER ALERT: Do NOT watch the clip if you don’t want to know that the wife dies! Oops, but no, seriously, I think the previews tell you she dies, but the whole movie is about the widower and how he gets on with life. So watch it anyway!)

Both of these clips, with an additional four minutes make up the whole beginning of the movie. Overall, the movie is so good. The whole thing is about this widower who feels bad that his wife never got the chance to do “the things she was going to do” as her Adventure Scrapbook depicted so he promises to make good on visiting and living in Paradise Falls. It’s all about the adventure he runs into and how he actually ends up finding adventure himself in trying to fulfill the promise (just as she would’ve wanted him to). It’s an amazing movie that really, even though it’s a kid’s flick, deals with some pretty adult ideas about relationships, love and marriage.

I kept telling Tanner, “I LOVE this movie!” And I did. It will probably join my collection soon and I can’t believe it took me this long to see it.

I suppose I was just overwhelmed at the first twelve minutes of the movie and how they packed so much real emotion into such a short amount of time. On their own, the two clips above could have been submitted as a digital short about marriage to rave reviews.

After Ellie passes, the Wilderness Explorer character, Russell appears and the remainder of the movie focuses on how, despite being grumpy and not wanting to, Carl develops strong relationships with him (and also a dog named Dug and a bird named Kevin). It’s truly just an amazing movie and really, really illustrates how important and dynamic relationships can be. Tanner loved the dog Dug because 1) he was really funny, 2) he was a dog, and 3) he unconditionally loved Carl upon first meeting. Below is the clip where he’s introduced into the movie. It’s funny, but we liked it because we like to think that Toby thinks about us all the thing Dug does about his Master and that if she had a collar that let her speak, it would sound a lot like this stuff.

Anyway, back to why I loved the movie so much…

Being a newlywed, sometimes I wonder what other people experienced in their first years of marriage, but I know that as Tanner sat with me on the couch, not at all making fun of me for bursting into tears when the wife dies…seriously, it took me about five minutes to compose myself…but (prepare yourself for icky sweetness here), because of these things, I love my husband and I know that no matter what we go through, even if it’s something as awful as Carl and Ellie have to experience, we will be able to get through them and love each other more after the fact. Pastor Eric prayed for us in our wedding ceremony that we would love each other more every day than we did the day we got married, and I know that will be so.

Quick summary: Up is an amazing movie; you should see it. I love my husband. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Friends

2 responses to “We’re Up.

  1. Steph

    Ummm, seriously was in tears reading this entry, you brat!

    Love you.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

