Menu Monday Returns


With all the travel and evening events we’ve had going on over the past few weeks, we have been majorly struggling to even pull together a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for dinner, let alone actually plan out a weekly menu and then make it!

The only upside I’ve been able to see by us being so busy we don’t grocery shop is that the fridge is pretty well-organized (thanks to the Great Combiner and a lack of time to even eat).

This week is a different story. We are still super slammed–Bubba has a meeting after work on Tuesday and then I’m going to dinner with my dear girlfriends to celebrate my friend’s new job and new apartment in NASHVILLE and then I might meet mom for dinner on Thursday since she MIGHT be out-of-town for my actual birthday and the week after and we’re going out for dinner on Friday for my birthday (the big 25…ahhhh!)–but I was damned determined to have dinners at home this week that would be both good for me and make me feel good (physically and also like a good wife).

Sunday: The “Framily” Dinner–Meatloaf and Mashed Potatoes.

We’ve started this new tradition (going on week three now) called “Framily” dinner…friend+family=friend family=framily=the family you choose for those of you that weren’t keeping up…and it’s been so fun. We get together for dinner on Sunday and then watch TrueBlood. A little morbid, I know, but it works for us. All the weeks so far have been at our place because I’m already cooking, but Kelly is hosting it next Sunday so I don’t have to cook my own birthday dinner (so sweet!).

Anyway, as a season finale meal for TrueBlood, we’re making meatloaf. I thought this would be a great opportunity to show my framily how good my meatloaf is since they all make so much fun of it! They’re going to be changing their tune today I’m pretty sure.

Monday: Fish Tacos.

I will say that fish tacos (the name of the food) always kind of grosses me out, but I do love fish and I love tacos, so we’re going to try it out. We’re using this recipe from Eating Well.

Wednesday: No meal…GNO.

Thursday: Flat Iron Steak, Arborrio Rice and Broccoli (if I’m not meeting Mom for dinner…if so, this gets pushed to next week).

We just bought a standard Flat Iron Steak and are seasoning it with a store-bought seasoning…a balsamic herb marinade (below) and we have pretty high hopes.

The meal itself should be pretty simple, but delicious.

Friday: Birthday Date Night.

Bubba is taking me out for my 25th birthday. I’m not sure where we’re going, but I know it will be great and I’m super excited! 🙂 Remember, it’s only SIX days until the big day. So finish up your shopping people!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu

Leave a Reply

