The Help Gets an A+


I finally saw The Help with mom today.

I made her read the book forever ago when I joined the Knoxville Junior League. My provisional group had decided to start a book club and since The Help was about the Junior League back in the day, we thought that would be a good place to start. I read the book in about two days and then made my mom read it.  I found out it was being made into a movie shortly after I finished it and marked it down in my calendar so I would be sure not to miss it. My provisional class went together, but I had to work (and I really wanted to see it with my mom).

So, we finally saw it and I loved it. It was so well done and, surprisingly, was actually very true to the book. It’s one of the first times I’ve ever said that seeing a movie made from a book.

I didn’t realize it at first, but the girl who wrote it, Kathryn Stockett, is a Phi Mu Alum from the University of Alabama…so that made the book a little cooler for me.

Besides the fact that I loved the book and thought the movie was great (Emma Stone did a fantastic job, and is sooooooo pretty), I don’t have much else to say about it. It was really good. Really, really good. If you haven’t seen the movie yet, you should, BUT not before you read the book. Even though they are very similar (amazingly), you should read the book first.

The funny thing though is that when I see movies with mom we always talk about the previews that come on before and point out which movies we’d like to see and which ones we think we’ll skip. There weren’t any majorly awesome previews that stood out (Footloose maybe, but the original was so good I’m not sure I need to see the new one….sorry Julieanne Hough) of things that I wanted to see, but I can say for certain, I will not be seeing Courageous. From what I gathered about the movie from the preview, it is about four cops (who are also father’s) who experience something pretty tragic which makes them call their faith and parenting skills into question. One exchange that stood out to me from the preview went like this “Character A: You’ve been a good enough dad. Character B: I don’t want to be a ‘good-enough’ Dad!”

Here is the synopsis from the website: “While they consistently give their best on the job, good enough seems to be all they can muster as dads. But they’re quickly discovering that their standard is missing the mark.” Here is the movie trailer.

About 50 seconds in–where the guy says, “Do you think it really messed up your childhood not having a dad?” and the other guy responds, “More than you know.”–mom looked over and said, “Perhaps you should strike this one from your to-see list.” I turned to her and said, “You think?!” Here’s the trailer for your enjoyment.

If you see it, you can tell me all about it. Me, I’ll probably wait until it hits OnDemand and I’ve got four pints of Ben & Jerrys and the house to myself. 🙂

Hubby laughs at me all the time about how easily I become emotional over television and movies. I mean, Folger’s coffee commercials do it to me EVERY.SINGLE.TIME.

This one especially…

And then there is this Lowes one…

And this one for JIF…

It just struck me that my last few posts have been a bit emotional. For that, I apologize, but if you’re going to read the blog, sometimes you get more of what’s in my head than what’s going onto the dinner plate! I promise you’ll get a Menu Monday post tomorrow and some fun stuff in the next little bit. I’m going to my first football game in a couple weeks…so we’ll get our traditional football postings from that…and the Avett Brothers concert that I can’t wait for…those will be good posts for sure!

Happy Sunday everyone!

While they consistently give their best on the job, good enough seems to be all they can muster as dads. But they’re quickly discovering that their standard is missing the mark.

1 Comment

Filed under Family

One response to “The Help Gets an A+

  1. Amanda

    JIF peanut butter commercial gets me every. single. time. Love you.

Leave a Reply

