Menu Monday


I’m back again with Menu Monday. I know I’m sporadic about the posting now, but Menu Monday has started to be hard to come by with our crazy schedules. I was trying to think what we ate for dinner last week, and I can’t even tell you. I know we have some leftover flat-iron steak, so I know that was in there and Kelly cooked us dinner on Sunday (beef stroganauff), but Monday through the rest of the week is lost on me. (Not a good sign in my young age!)

Anyway, we have a great menu planned for this week to get us back on track after the birthday madness of last week. Luckily, I didn’t put on any poundage even with the big dinners out all week, but I’ve got to get serious about this now. My trainer keeps calling me a hamster and I need a little bit of wiggle room!

Sunday was “Framily Dinner” at Shaun’s. So I was off the hook for Sunday dinner, which was kind of nice even though I really enjoy planning a big meal to cook on Sundays that kind of takes up a little bit of the afternoon so I don’t feel so lazy and sluggish in the evening before the week starts, but it’s still nice to not have to come up with something (and it saves us a meal’s worth of money at the grocery).

Monday: Cuban Glazed Pork Tenderloin

My mother-in-law got me the subscription to Taste of Home magazine that has a ton of great recipes in it. So I couldn’t wait to use something from there. Surprisingly, there was (what looks like) a great recipe for Cuban Glazed Pork Tenderloin. I can’t link to it because it’s not online yet (probably since it was just in this magazine). The recipe involves sweet potatoes too, so I figured it had to be good.

I always like to look at things that are labeled “Cuban” because it makes me feel like I’m cooking things from Hubby’s heritage (he’s half Cuban–from his mother’s side–in case you didn’t know), even though a lot of the stuff I make that calls itself Cuban or says it’s Cuban isn’t really CUBAN…according to him. I still have never tried to make any of the traditional, family recipe Cuban dishes…call me intimidated!

Tuesday: Lemon-Thyme Chicken and Savory Skillet Broccoli with Whole-Wheat Egg Noodles

I found this recipe while I was nosing around the Taste of Home website looking for the Cuban Glazed Pork Tenderloin recipe to link up for you. It was classified under the Healthy Menus section, so I jumped on board. I’m supposed to be eating a high protein diet (both on the directive of my gastro doctor and my personal trainer), but I’m really struggling with it. At this point, I’ve been eating so many eggs that I might seriously be sick if I have to see another one for a while and (I’ve been battling this for a while) preparing raw chicken to cook has really started to gross me out. We have actually switched grocers a couple of times because I don’t like the cuts of chicken they serve up pre-packaged…too fatty or veiny for my liking. (Every time I’ve prepared chicken as of late, I seriously consider vegetarianism because it makes me so creeped out…if only I didn’t like cheeseburgers so much!)

Anyway, the lemon-thyme chicken looks pretty good, so we’re giving it a try.

Since they paired it with broccoli, that’s what I’m doing too, but I’m doing Savory Skillet Broccoli. Sooooooo simple. It involves sauteing the broccoli in olive oil for about two minutes then pouring in a package of Lipton Recipe Secrets Golden Onion Soup Mix (or the Kroger kind) mixed with 1.5 cups of water. You bring the whole concoction to a boil over high heat and then reduce to low and simmer covered six minutes or until the broccoli is tender. The only real calories added to the broccoli is the olive oil and you only use about a tablespoon of it. If you want, you can also throw in a little bit of minced garlic for added flavor, but it isn’t really necessary because the onions in the soup mix are so potent and the mix is so concentrated.

I bought some whole-wheat egg noodles because Tanner needed some carbs for his meal. I might try to avoid eating more than a few juts get a little extra sumpin-sumpin on my plate because my trainer has started calling me “Carb Queen” and the workouts for “Carb Queen” suck seriously.

Wednesday: Maple-Glazed Salmon with Sauteed Zucchini and Texas Toast

This one is also from Taste of Home (seriously, I love the stuff they have there).

Looks tasty, huh? Originally, I stumbled upon this and was super pumped to make it, but as I started to look at the recipe (not many ingredients), I realized I didn’t know what hoisin sauce was and I knew I didn’t have it. So I moved on to this version, which happens to be classified as the “Light & Tasty” (SCORE!)version of it…and the recipe consisted of things that I already have in my kitchen! (Double SCORE!)


So we’re having this salmon with sauteed zucchini. I’m just doing it with a little olive oil, minced onion, minced garlic, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper, and a little bit of white balsamic vinegar (3/4 cup only equals 70 calories…so I could have a couple of cups without feeling terrible). I’ll probably serve up the leftover pasta for me and make the hubs a piece of big Texas toast to round out his meal since the fish and zucchini is so light. Perfect compromise, huh?

(Note: a hoisin sauce is just a Chinese duck sauce….oh well. I liked the second recipe better anyway!)

Thursday: Leftovers.

We decided only to do three meals because I have some soup left over from this last week that we can eat if we need to, but we didn’t want to buy a whole other meal because something always seems to come up. AND since we skipped the grocery store last week, we knew this was going to be an expensive week anyway.

Friday: Out.

We usually leave this open, too, so we can make plans without feeling like we’re letting food go to waste at home.  The same goes for Saturday (because it’s football season).

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu

Leave a Reply

