Red Lobster Biscuits,Tortellini Soup and Flat Iron Steak


I won’t call this post a Menu Monday post because we’re slightly overwhelmed about what we’ve got going on this week (and then have to add the pain of dealing with my car). Tomorrow, I have to work late to start decorating Knoxville Center in preparation for Santa’s Arrival on Saturday. Tuesday, I have a meet-and-greet with the new mall manager and the store managers at Knoxville Center (we had one at West Town last Thursday). Wednesday, I have an appointment with my trainer, but the hubs and I will have a nice meal together that night. Thursday, Santa arrives to West Town as the grand finale of a mascot parade. Thankfully, Bubba and I are both off on Friday. I do have to work for a little bit on Saturday morning (when Santa arrives), but I am off Sunday and Monday again. So though we (read: I) have a super busy week to gear up for Santa, we will manage to have a couple delicious meals this week.

Today, we attended an open house for a client of the hubs. It was a beautiful home in town that is currently for sale as the couple is moving back to California, but they wanted to show off their digs before they did. Five and a half bathrooms (complete with steam shower and jacuzzi tub), five bedrooms (each with its own bathroom), a full gym, a three car garage, HUGE kitchen and several other crazy amenities…needless to say, it was amazing. Here is a link to the Trulia listing. I’m not sure if the actual listing is correct, but at least you can see some of the pictures. Also, if you’ve got 14 or 15 minutes, you can watch a YouTube tour of the house with whom I can only assume is the realtor.

We finally were able to make it back to the Gourmet Market for brunch today. It’s been several weeks since we’ve been able to go and we were afraid they’d forget about us! After brunch, we hit the grocery store. Some $100 bucks later, we came out with enough food for dinner (and lunches for me) throughout this hectic week. Anyway, because we knew we’d have to go to my mom’s to pick up my car after we went to this open house, I decided to make dinner before we went so we could just heat it up when we got back.

For dinner tonight, I made a Tomato Tortellini Soup from Taste of Home.

It was pretty easy and I only adapted the recipe a little bit. (We left out the sun-dried tomatoes because they were $4.99 for one jar–which is what the recipe called for–and instead of using TWO cups of half and half, I used one cup and then to account for the other cup I added 14 tablespoons of skim milk–one cup minus two tablespoons–and two tablespoons of melted butter…this was to help cut the calories a bit.) To go with this soup, I made garlic cheddar biscuits from Gina’s Skinny Taste. Her recipe said the dough could make 14 biscuits…I didn’t realize how much they would expand, so I only scooped 10 and they are huge (which means more calories)! So trust her when she says to make 14 or 15 scoops.

Here’s my soup and biscuits.

ย  Tomorrow night, the hubs will have left over soup and probably biscuits or grilled cheese…whatever floats his boat.

Wednesday, he’ll make a flat iron steak. That’s right…Bubba in the kitchen on Wednesday. He’ll be adapting this flank steak recipe from Fitness Magazine.

Spice Rubbed Flank Steak

I seriously can’t wait to eat this. It seems very fall in its spice mix…brown sugar, garlic powder, cumin, salt, thyme and cinnamon…plus a little cayenne pepper. It’s going to be so tasty. We’ll be serving this with mini corn on the cobs and a frozen steamer bag of Brussels sprouts with butter sauce. We both think we’ll like Brussels sprouts, so we’re giving it a try this week. Here’s hoping we do like them because we’ll be eating them even if we don’t.

Thursday, I’ll be working late again so Bubba will probably end up at the Roo having bar food for dinner.

So while the menu isn’t anything to scream about, its a pretty tasty mix and will keep us full all week. It’s also all pretty healthy.

I messed up on the biscuits a bit and each one is about 150 calories, but if you only have half…so romantic…it’s only 75. ๐Ÿ™‚ A serving of soup (the recipe serves 10 people), will cost you about 244 calories. Bub and I each had a bowl for dinner tonight then I set some aside for leftovers this week, but I froze half of it for another time when we’re in a busy week bind. If you’re looking for a way to cut a few extra calories, leave the tortellini to your husband and just serve yourself some of the broth. It’s still pretty tasty and filling. Either way, you’re looking at about 319 calories for the soup and biscuit…give or take a few depending on how you eat it.

One serving of the flat iron steak will cost you about 175 calories, the Brussels sprouts another 30 and you can count on about 170 for the mini corn on the cob (if you don’t add butter, if you do, add another 50 cals).

In the future, it’d be nice if I could be serving these meals to the love of my life off a great kitchen table like this

I can’t help but look for great things for the house all the time. A new table and a love seat (to match our couch) are tops on my list right now. Unfortunately, I think the living room gods are working against me as our couch has since been discontinued making it increasingly difficult to find this love seat anywhere!

I have one last website that may have it. I just need to remember to call them! If they don’t, I’m not sure what I’ll do next! The table is just a fantasy as I’m not sure we have the space for it right now…but down the road, something like this is definitely what I’d look for. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyway, not a terrible dinner week to gear up for the holiday season. I’m trying really hard to instill positive eating habits BEFORE the holidays get here so I’m not playing catch up in January…besides, it’s just a few months after Christmas that we’re heading to Barbados and I need my swim suit to be nice to me! ๐Ÿ™‚

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner Menu, Home Repairs

One response to “Red Lobster Biscuits,Tortellini Soup and Flat Iron Steak

  1. Nice looking soup and biscuits.

Leave a Reply

