Catching Up, Nashville and High Kicks


Despite how it may look based on my hiatus from the blogosphere, I survived my first “retail” Black Friday. It’s been a while since I posted, but things have been so crazy at work, I’ve barely been able to function outside of making myself go to the gym and cooking dinner.

I did manage to make it Christmas at our house…way earlier than normal (like November 12), but I was afraid with my crazy work schedule and travel, I would lose steam and not get everything up. I guess the retail part of my life moved into the house! I mean the mall got decor on Nov. 2! I’ve even wrapped two Christmas gifts…though I have several more people to shop for.

You can't really see it, but my angel is on top of the tree this year. It was a gift from my mom...just like her's.

And we did have an AMAZING FRamily Thanksgiving dinner on Saturday after the hubs and I went to “The Port” for actual Thanksgiving and then we had a nice actual family dinner with my mom, sis, Court and Jer.

I also cooked a slew of delicious meals for the week after Thanksgiving (and before) to keep us from adding even more holiday weight. These meals included more of the Lentil and Chicken Sausage Soup, the BBQ Blue Cheese Turkey Burgers with Sweet Potato Fries, Chicken Quesadillas and, of course, meatloaf.  🙂

image

Yes, these are the good mashed potatoes!

After an exceptionally long week at work, I was sooooooo excited to be going to visit one of my besties in Nashville (a girl’s trip with ALL my local besties)!  It was a quick trip; we left early Saturday morning and came back on Sunday afternoon, but it was a great day nonetheless. After we got to K’s super-cute, ultra-trendy, very-downtown apartment, we visited for a bit and then went for lunch (and margaritas) at Cantina Laredo.

After lunch, we went back to K’s to hang out at the roof-top lounge of her super-cute, ultra-trendy, very-downtown apartment. After watching a little bit of the SEC Championship game and gossiping about all the goings-one since K left K-town, we went to get changed for dinner. We were heading to Hard Rock before we went to see the Rockette’s at the Grand Ole Opry.

After dinner, we met up with some of KL’s besties and saw the show. Here are some photos of our time in Nashville:

At Cantina Laredo for lunch.

Me and Al at Hard Rock

In front of the downtown tree. (Dark but still fun!)

At the Grand Ole Opry's Christmas Spectacular featuring the Radio City Rockettes. Not sure why this one looks so creepy.

Goofing off a little in the Opry Shop. We were actually making fun of these hats, but the rhinestone patterns didn't show up with the flash! 😦

Fun photo ops.

After the show, we went tried to go to Sambuca because it was so highly recommended and right near K’s apartment, but they wouldn’t let us eat because it was 11:00 p.m. and they said that even though we all wanted drinks, since only one of us was going to order food, we couldn’t have a table and would have to stand in the bar. After pleading that one of us had a sprained ankle, they still turned us away. POOR SERVICE, VERY, VERY POOR. So we went to Urban Flats and ordered a nightcap, some white pizza and a s’mores dessert pizza. Then we headed home and basically collapsed from exhaustion. (I know, we’re big time!)

We got up this morning, hit the road after saying our goodbyes to K and (the sweetest) little Sammie dog. We got home around 1:00 and then TH and I headed to the grocery store. (So fun!)

On the menu this week? Mainly Crab bisque soup and grilled pimento cheese sandwiches (pimento cheese made with eight ounces of reduced fat Neufchatel cream cheese, one cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese, 1/4 cup of Kraft Olive Oil Mayo and two ounces of pimentos).

A little mono-chromatic, but definitely yummy.

For this soup, though, while super tasty, I think it needed a little “something.” Next time I make it, I’m going to add some corn and carrots, possibly peas…a little less onion…and maybe some potatoes. I know that makes it more of a chowder than a bisque…but it just wasn’t as hearty as we typically like our healthy soups to be. Super tasty though…maybe a great option for a first course for a dinner party. Bubba and I split the grilled pimento cheese. IT was super hearty.

To fill out the week (as it starts to get busy with Christmas parties and work commitments), we’re finishing off the Chicken Sausage and Lentil Soup (very hearty) and having spaghetti with meat sauce.

Happy Sunday, ya’ll!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Friends, Vacations

One response to “Catching Up, Nashville and High Kicks

Leave a Reply

