Ringing in the New Year with Filet and Souffle!


As I mentioned in a previous post, Bub and I decided to do our own thing this New Year’s Eve. We decided to stay in. So I decided to cook us a nice meal to ring in the New Year. No black eyed peas (the food or the band), but was thinking to get us in the mood for our Caribbean vacation, I’d make Caribbean pork and rice with grilled pineapple and salad with banana souffles for dessert.

Luckily, I went home to visit my mom on Friday and she sent me home with two bacon-wrapped filets. Of course, upon seeing those, Bub wanted them for dinner tonight…which was fine with me because I hadn’t stumbled upon any Caribbean-themed recipe that struck my fancy yet, and I hadn’t been to the grocery store. The only thing that stuck from the original plan was the banana souffles.

So tonight, we had bacon-wrapped filet mignon, baked potatoes and salad with banana souffles for dessert.

The bacon-wrapped filet mignon was coated with olive oil and a little salt and pepper and grilled 6 minutes a side and then seared on its ends for a few minutes to cook the bacon. The baked potatoes were coated in olive oil and sprinkled with kosher salt and cooked in a 350 degree oven for one hour. The salad was dumped out of a bag and sprinkled with carrot strings, blue and cheddar cheese and store-bought dressing.

Muy delicioso!

The banana souffle recipe came from Food & Wine. I prepared them in the new ramekins I got for Christmas from Aunt Becky. 🙂

Theirs

Mine

I was so tickled when these came out because, to be completely honest, I didn’t think I could do these. They were so good. Very tasty even though I made them with sucra instead of real sugar. I think they would have been even better with some blueberries chocolate chips in them :), and maybe could have stayed in a few minutes longer to crispy up the crust, but still…they were a yummy light cap to  a delicious dinner. (Thanks for the steaks, mom!)

We made a wine run last night and planned to drink all six bottles we brought home, plus the two that were already in the wine fridge AND the baby bottle of champagne we picked up…just kidding…though we did drink SOME wine and at the tiny bottle of champagne.

Obviously the meal wasn’t exactly in line with a healthy start to the new year…but it was decadent and delicious, so I feel like it must’ve done some good to help us in maybe setting ourselves up for a little prosperity for next year.

Having been so busy with work this holiday season, I was really glad to stay home and enjoy the strike of midnight with my husband and our tiny family. Christmas got taken down this morning (even though I didn’t make it to organizing the fridge or the pantry) so I feel pretty good about sending 2011 in this way…happy at home with my husband.

I’ve never been much for a wild NYE night out, but I love a good meal and love the good company of my Bub, so I didn’t really feel like we could go wrong. 🙂

We even pulled out our wedding champagne flutes and used them for the very first time!

image

Then I quickly hand-washed them and put them away! 🙂 No glass-breaking disasters necessary to start the new year!

Hope everyone else had a great NYE and rang it in how YOU wanted to. I know I did and I’m certainly looking forward to what 2012 will bring us. Speaking of 2012…as the new year comes, are you thinking of resolutions to help make you and your life better?

If so, I’ll leave you with a list from a 2011 Time Magazine article called Top 10 Commonly Broken New Year’s Resolutions. If you don’t have a resolution, pick one from here!

  1. Lose weight and get fit. Research says that 60% of newly purchased gym memberships go unused and attendance is usually back to normal at the gym by mid-February. I know this to be true, but if you’re working on this resolution yourself, I wish you luck. It’s been tough for me, but rewarding.
  2. Quit smoking. This is not and will not ever be a resolution of mine…I don’t smoke. I think it sucks, and stinks, and is gross. I know a few people I’d like to give this up!
  3. Learn something new. I am surprised to see that this is a commonly failed resolution… if you’re doing your job right, living life right, you should be learning AT.LEAST.SOMETHING.EVERYDAY. Sheesh.
  4. Eat healthier and diet. Goes great with the resolution at the top of this list. Pairing the two together will probably lead to better success all around.
  5. Get out of debt and save money. Again, a tough one, because it involves changing habits and making better decisions. Fortunately for me, my husband is a banker and has really made me want to be better at this, so I’m starting 2012 with some good financial goals and a conscious effort to make better choices when it comes to money.
  6. Spend more time with family. I love my family (extended and immediate). It’s always a good idea to spend more time with them…especially since my sister is moving to California this year.
  7. Travel to new places. Check this one off the list because this year I’m going to Hilton Head (never been) and Barbados…and hopefully a couple other places I haven’t been before in between!
  8. Be less stressed. I’m not sure this is possible for me, but I do always try to work at living in the moment and being focused in the here and now. I will continue that this year.
  9. Volunteer. Always a good decision.
  10. Drink less. I started doing this in preparation for the wedding early this year. It’s a tough one because drinking is an adult luxury I really enjoy, but typically I end up talking myself out of over-indulging by reminding myself that the calories aren’t always worth the time in the gym to work them off (and when I feel like crap in the morning, I really always say, “Ugh. Never doing that again!”). I’ll be telling myself that tonight, too!

I may not make any real resolutions this year, but maybe try to keep this list in the back of my mind and work at doing better at these.  What are your resolutions? Whatever they are, good luck! I know you can do it!

Happy New Year everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Date Nights, Dinner Menu

Leave a Reply

