Grilled Chicken with Cola Sauce Ends the Streak


Tonight I made a Grilled Chicken in Cola Sauce…a recipe I’d been hoarding for a while from Cooking Light. I was kind of excited about this dish because, as I said, I’d been hoarding the recipe since September. Since I was home all day, and had all the ingredients, I figured I was up for a little more complex meal.

Now, I haven’t been feeling great this weekend. Kind of tired and puny with a little drainage (TMI? Sorry.), so perhaps I overestimated my ability to prepare this meal well. Not to mention that instead of using full chicken breasts, I had thin breast tenderloins (because last week I was supposed to make white chicken pizza with spinach and mushrooms on it…and I did, which is why I had the thin chicken breasts because I can cube them and cook them quickly then easily shred them, but I COMPLETELY forgot about the chicken for the pizza and served it up vegetarian style instead…it was still delicious…but not what TH was expecting). So anyway, I used these thin breast tenderloins (and I’m weird about chicken anyway because if it’s not EXACTLY right…texture, moistness, etc. I can’t eat it. Don’t know why I’m so weird about that, but I am.

As you can see by the recipe (if you made the jump at the link) there are a lot of ingredients and steps…creating, boiling then simmering a sauce, mixing and spreading a rub…it was just a lot of work…with not as great an outcome as should have been. I’m not saying it didn’t taste ok, it did; but it was too much work for the end result. I think a store-bought sauce (or one I mixed up on my own) would have sufficed for sure…even though I did get to use homemade soda in the sauce. Like I said, I am not feeling great, so that may have played a role in the fact that I didn’t love the chicken. At any rate, this recipe is NOT going in the family cook book. I should have probably let that magazine page go a long time ago! 🙂

I served the meal up with broccoli (with olive oil and kosher salt sprinkled on top) and a lightened up mac and cheese. I basically took the mac and cheese part of Taste of Home’s Sloppy Joe Mac and Cheese recipe and made that…below so you don’t have to figure it out.

  • 1 package (16 ounces) macaroni ***I used whole wheat shells***
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground mustard
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 4 cups 2% milk ***I used skim milk***
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 8 ounces reduced-fat process cheese (Velveeta), cubed
  • 2 cups (8 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese, divided

Cook macaroni as directed on package. Drain macaroni; set aside. In a large saucepan, saute onion in butter until tender. Stir in the flour, mustard, salt and pepper until smooth. Gradually add milk and Worcestershire sauce. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 1-2 minutes or until thickened. Remove from the heat. Stir in the process cheese until melted. Add macaroni and 1 cup cheddar cheese; mix well.

This was pretty good. TH really liked it. It didn’t feel as heavy as store-bought Velveeta mac and cheese (which we both absolutely love and could eat a full family sized box just the two of us…hey, we’re a family, right?!), so we felt better about it.

Here’s my plate.

I’m not totally ready to call this one a loss, but I’m not going to call it a win either. It was an ok meal…chicken: TH liked, I didn’t. Mac and Cheese: we both liked. Broccoli: I love and TH tolerates. BUT, in making this “just ok” meal, I used just about EVERY pan we own…which meant a lot of dish washing for Bubba. (Again, not worth the work.) You decide whether this one goes in the W or L column.

Later this week we’re having Pork Tenderloin with Horseradish Sauce and brown rice.

I’m not sure what green vegetable we’ll be having, as we forgot to buy one today on our grocery store run. Still deciding whether that calls for a re-run to the store for me or whether we’ll just make do with what we have here at the house.

The tenderloin is already proving to be a win because we bought a HUGE one at the store (on super sale) and had the butcher cut it in two so we can get SEVERAL meals out of it (dinner and at least one lunch for me from this one and the same for the next one we cook) and any sauce that combines sour cream and mayo sounds amazing in my book. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu

Leave a Reply

