New iPad – Wins and Woes


I know it’s been eons since I last posted. I’m basically the worst blogger in the world. I know.

Part of the lack of interesting things posted to this blog in the last many months is due to my schedule. I have been so busy with work that by the time I get home, I don’t even want to look at a computer screen (let alone work out, but that’s s different story). The other part is that my computer crashed. That’s right, as if I hadn’t learned my lesson the two times before this has happened to me, my computer crashed and as of now, I’ve lost everything sans what happened to be backed up on a couple USB drives I own. So, after being told that my computer itself was not salvageable, but that the hard drive might be, I bought an iPad. (Apple lovers, don’t get too excited…my review isn’t glowing…yet.) For those if you less than interested in my not-so-tech-savvy review of the iPad, you might want to skip down about seven paragraphs (the one that starts with, “Anyways…”). 🙂

So here I am, typing this blog on an iPad (which should be super easy, but the keyboard I bought to go with it has a dead battery and no charger came with it…damn Amazon sellers…and though the charger is the same used for the original Blackberry, neither T nor I can find one in the house though be both used to own them). The touch keyboard on the iPad works ok for something like this…typing blogs…but it would be nice to have an actual keyboard. Like I said though, that battery is dead, so as far a I’m concerned, so is the $60 bucks I spent on it until I can get that charged back up.

Also, I had to buy a camera adapter for the iPad…for another $32 bucks…because the iPad doesn’t have USB capabilities. It’s basically just a large iPod. Which is super cool and great for reading my Kindle books and playing on Facebook and Twitter, but not so great for Word (you have to buy and app), Excel (you have to buy an app), or PowerPoint (there is app for that) and Publisher (no app as the iPad is not that great with design features).

Also, it doesn’t really work with Polyvore, a new favorite site of mine…so I basically can’t use that either. I can browse it, but not design on it.

Another annoyance I’m dealing with right now is that all my music is on my iPod Mini and my iPhone, but I can’t get it onto my iPad at the moment because I don’t have a working PC. This is a huge pain as the only way to do it is to use Match which costs $25 a year to get everything on there (then you can sync wirelessly with iCloud). Supposedly there is a way to fix this (a work around of sorts), but my google searching shows no way to do it without first going through a PC…which I don’t have…obviously.

Syncing my pictures does appear to be super easy, but that doesn’t really quell the fact that as of now, I have lost all the pictures stored on my PC since the computer crashed and those weren’t backed up anywhere else. Now that is my own fault, but I don’t think I’m totally to blame. In college, my computer crashed and I lost everything. A few years later and a little smarter, I backed everything up on an external hard drive, but one time I was plugging that into my computer to back everything up (like I did monthly) and the thing shorted out…itself AND my computer…so I lost most everything then too even though some guru was able to fire the computer back up and get back some stuff of that for me. So I was taking a risk without the external hard drive this time, but as far as I’m concerned, you’re pretty much damned if you do and damned if you don’t. A lot of my pictures are on Facebook and some others in Snapfish (wedding photos) but not all of them. I’m still holding out hope they can be found, but I’m trying to be realistic about that.

I’m super annoyed that my iPad is smarter than me even though it’s perfect for travel and basic computer activities, just probably better suited for use when you have an actual PC to go along with it. Fortunately, Computer Depot (just behind Puelos on Cedar Bluff…next to Prestige Cleaners) was able to back up all the stuff on my hard drive–that was in my sister’s computer, which she is letting me keep for now–and are restoring the computer for me so I’ll have a useable laptop too…for $200ish bucks.

Anyway, besides my technological woes, things are going pretty well.

We are so close to our Barbados trip that we can hardly wait. I have even ventured into some dressing rooms to try on swimsuits. Despite my time in the gym, it’s still pretty much the worst thing ever…shopping for swimsuits really just doesn’t do wonders for the self esteem. Haha.

We are staying busy with friends and I am still cooking most nights, some meals better than others…but mostly they are turning out ok.

Here are some photos of meals we’ve had over the past few weeks. (See, I’ve been thinking about blogging…that counts, right?!)

image

Chicken with White Wine Mushroom Sauce, Arborrio Rice and Zuchinni and Squash Sautee

image

Stirfry Pork with Rice and Peas (Not such a great photo.)

This had anchovy filets in it, we didn’t care much for it though it was an interesting change of pace.

image
Stacked Chicken Enchilada with Corn and Baked Kale

 This was our first attempt at kale. Basically, I tossed it in a mix of olive oil, salt and pepper then spread it on a cookie sheet and baked it. A little strange, but still tasty. Not so great the next day though. This enchilada was amazing and got even better as time went on. I loved having it for lunch!

image
Portabello Mushroom Burgers with Yukon Gold and Sweet Potato Mash and Best Ever Green Salad

Another tasty meal. The portabellos were chopped/diced and mixed in with the ground beef to make them a little more health and less dense. The potatoes were interesting and you could taste both kinds, though T preferred one or the other.

image
Seasoned Pork Chops with Salad and Applesauce

Simple, but delicious. Applesauce was a nice change of pace and the salad was good. The pork chops were seasoned with a couple different things from the pantry spice rack.

image
Adobe Chicken with Mac and Cheese and Broccoli

Another simple meal that was tasty. The mac and cheese was from the Mac and Cheese Sloppy Joe Bake from Taste of Home Comfort Food Diet and it was just ok. Everything else was fine, but not outstanding.

image

Harris Special Breakfast Sandwich

T insisted that his meal make it into the blog. He made the Harris Special Breakfast which is a basically toast with mayo, scrambled eggs with cheese and bacon scrambled in. It was delicious and perfectly prepared with love!

So, as you can see, while I have been the worst blogger, I have been trying very hard to feed my husband and keep him alive (though he can take perfectly good care of himself). 🙂

Also, sorry that there are no links to recipes for these deliciously amazing looking meals. It’s my first time back and who has time for that? Not me, especially since I’m having so much trouble with the iPad and the WordPress enterface. This will just have to do for now! Hopefully, I’ll be back sooner rather than later!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Home Repairs

Leave a Reply

