The Green Monster is Here!


No…I’m not talking jealousy…I’m talking about the Green Monster Smoothie.

I’ve been a little skeptical of this phenomenon for a while now…I mean, who in their right mind puts spinach in a smoothie (it’s a leaf for crying out loud). Don’t get me wrong, I love spinach…in salad form, as a saute, or baked into quiche…but in a smoothie…you’ve got to be kidding me!

But I’m not!

My friend Mollie touted these a while back and I’ve been scared of them. But as Bub and I are on the superfoods fan train, I decided to give it a try with some leftover spinach we’ve had from dinners this week (also a pretty good spread, but you’ll have to wait to see if I have time for another blog about it…and I didn’t take photos…sorry).

Anyway, back to the smoothie…I used a version from Gina’s Skinnytaste Blog (that I love SOOOO much). It contains a frozen banana (hint: peel and slice the banana BEFORE you try to freeze it…it doesn’t work if you freeze it in the peel, because…uh, you can’t peel it), one tablespoon peanut butter, two cups spinach, half a cup of greek yogurt, three fourths cup of vanilla almond milk…and that’s it. I didn’t have vanilla almond milk or greek yogurt, so I used plain Dannon Lowfat Yogurt, a teaspoon of vanilla extract and skim milk. It made a little more than 16 ounces and was pretty delicious. Again, no photos…I know, so lame…but it looked just like this (photo from Gina’s SkinnyTaste blog):

Image

I know you can see little flecks of spinach in there, but you seriously can’t taste them and if you blend it enough…it’s velvety smooth.

Interestingly enough, and you may have noticed this too, this smoothie didn’t contain ice. So it wasn’t watered down. It was all substance so it was delicious to the end. What made it thick was obviously the yogurt, but also the frozen bananas which was pretty cool. I’m sure you could do this (and in fact I know you can thanks to my good buddy Jann who showed me) with other fruits, like blueberries. Which also means you can buy your fruit frozen if you wanted to help cut down on cost and to allow you to get out of season fruits when you’re dying for a strawberry!

Now, obviously, the recipe I used didn’t have any fruit (besides a banana) so it wasn’t SUPER flavorful…but I think next time I might use a flavored greek yogurt (which I did have on hand) to up the protein and maybe nix the peanut butter…I dunno. Now I’m on the search for more green smoothie recipes…do you have one? What is your favorite smoothie including spinach?

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu, Friends

Leave a Reply

