A Foray into Father’s Day


I should also mention that we went to visit the in-laws on Saturday and Sunday for Father’s Day. Most of you who really know me know that I haven’t celebrated this day for quite some years…one of the last ones I celebrated being one of the last times I spoke to my dad. Before that, they were touch and go anyway.

So…it’s a new thing for me to celebrate this day (once treating it more like a scorned lover on Valentine’s Day…”Yes, yes, I get it. You have an amazing dad!”). Don’t get me wrong, I have a lot of great men in my life and I celebrate them everyday…but Father’s Day was a different thing.

My father-in-law (and my mother-in-law too) is great. He is such a good guy who had always welcomed me into the family. The in-laws just got back from Aruba so FD was a great opportunity to go visit with them.

We had a really great couple of days playing outside with the dogs and watching golf. For dinner MIL (mother-in-law) made a roast in the crock pot, some delicious green beans (with fat back…yum), corn on the cob and crescent rolls! I helped a bit by making some gravy to go with the meal with the herbs we brought them from our little garden. (Gravy was made with canola oil/butter, drippings from the crockpot, sage, flour and water and mixed up until delicious…with a little black pepper added in at the end.)

After dinner we watched some more golf then the hubs and I went out for some milkshakes.

As per usual, this morning, we had the standard in-law Sunday morning breakfast of homemade buttermilk biscuits (the very ones I had to learn to make before my husband would make me his wife), country ham, fried eggs, and gravy…the hubs dies for this meal and it is…so….good.

After breakfast we hung out a bit more and then hit the road to come home.

It’s such a pretty drive to and from Bub’s hometown and just 100 miles doorstep to doorstp so it was a great couple days.

Like I said, I’m new at this whole Father’s Day thing, but FIL (father-in-law) makes it pretty durn worthwhile! Love you FIL.

Ps. I must say a “Happy Day” to my mom who has been my mom and dad forever. She is the absolute best and I could pee my pants I’m so excited to see her tomorrow after too many days (for me) abroad…especially when FaceTime connections and WiFi are spotty!

Goodnight! Pps…Holy Cow! Two posts in one day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family

Leave a Reply

