A Pinteresting Sunday


I know I don’t post about it much, but I am on Pinterest.

I pin things and stalk the crafting pages, but I’m not what you would call a crafter…until now. Barely.

My friend Mary is a teacher and I found something on Pinterest months ago that I said she needed for her classroom. She, of course, responded, you should make it for me! Piece of cake, I thought.

The craft was a wreath for her classroom door. It was made with pencils and a chalkboard. Here’s what it looked like:

Now, though I’m not a crafter, I think I am pretty crafty so I thought I could certainly do this. This week, I decided to try since Mary is going back to school so I made a trip to the Dollar Store and AC Moore. My materials included, obviously, pencils, a middle piece (I chose a wooden star that I painted black), some sort of adhesive and a paint pen to put her name on it. When I got home, I got to work with my pencils and hot glue. It didn’t really work and certainly wasn’t something I was going to let anyone see so I pulled all the pencils off and tried again.

Still no good, so I walked away to regroup.

This morning, I looked at the tutorial (probably would have been a good FIRST step) and tried that way. I got some new glue (something called R600) and tried again. Right now, it appears to be working so I’ve got something heavy weighting it down right now hoping it will dry. When/if it does, I’ll post a photo of it (but only if it turns out ok).

Also, from Pinterst this morning, I made some sweet potato hummus.

And it is tasty. We didn’t make our pita chips (though I’m certain we could have), but we made the hummus. Pretty simple since I have that food processor now. I put some in an hold hummus container I had cleaned out and then put the rest in a Tupperware container to freeze. We bought the Simply Naked Pita Chips, but on our next trip we’ll probably pick up the cinnamon sugar pita chips because I think it will be a sweet treat. Plus it will be a great snack for tailgating since it’s orange!

I also prepared a crock pot beef stroganauff from another pin board that I piled all together (package of stew beef, two cans cream of mushroom soup, 3T Worcestershire sauce, some chopped/minced onion, and 14 oz beef broth) in the crock pot bin and put in the fridge so all I have to do on Wednesday is put it in and turn it on. Right before we eat, I’ll add the sour cream and cream cheese and we’ll serve it over noodles (and probably rice for leftovers)!

And for dinner tonight we’re having Cincinnati Turkey Chili over noodles with Cornbread Casserole. And just because you’re probably interested, we’re having Margarita shrimp over whole cous cous with broccoli tomorrow.

Now I’m off to start dinner…yes so early because I am headed to the movies to finally see Magic Mike (with Crystal, even though she’s already seen it). Happy Sunday, ya’ll.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu, Friends

Leave a Reply

