Bid Day and Food Prep Sunday


Today was a big day!

The last day in a long two weeks or preparation for my first recruitment as an advisor…Bid Day! And fortunately, because of Delicia’s guidance, it was one of the best rush returns in the history of our chapter!

Isn’t this a cute group of girls?!?!

20120826-200207.jpg

These are the juniors, my first solo rush’s President will be in this class.

20120826-201711.jpg

Here is the whole chapter:

20120826-192024.jpg

While I was at Bid Day, Bubba made some Pumpkin Pie Granola for me from this recipe. the house smelled amazing when I got home!

After a beautiful lunch at the Sunsphere, I headed home to spend the rest of the day with my husband.

I had planned the weekly menu and done the grocery list when I got up this morning and after a quick breakfast of eggs and toast, we went to the new Kroger. I may or may not have mentioned that I have started doing some food prep on Sunday night to make cooking dinner a little less overwhelming (and making it less likely we will eat out when I get lazy).

So, on the menu this week was/is: beef tacos and rice & corn pilaf (tonight), pepperoni mushroom pizza with red sauce on whole wheat crust (tomorrow), cheese ravioli with arugula in white wine sauce (Tuesday), pork lo mien with sugar snap peas and crab rangoon (Wednesday), mini corn dog muffins and hamburgers and other assorted tailgate food (Friday).

Today, I made the taco beef by slicing and onion and cooking it with ground beef with taco seasoning. I served it with the corn and rice pilaf (recipe found here), but I left out the cardamom (because it was $10.49 at the grocery store) and pumpkin seeds.

20120826-192809.jpg

As you can see, I forgot the “something green” I always demand with my meals (as I was taught by my mom). The hubs said I should just have a margarita, but I settled for a Michelob Ultra chick beer. 🙂

While I was cooking all that, I mixed the inside ingredients for the baked Crab Rangoon (1/8 tsp garlic salt, 1/8 tsp Worcestershire sauce, 10 won ton wrappers, half handful minced onion, 4 oz imitation crab, 3 oz cream cheese) and stuffed them to bake at 425 °F for 8-10 minutes. I also cooked my whole wheat spaghetti for the lo mein and cut the fat off my pork chops and sliced the into little chunks.

I also made our hamburgers for Friday by combining hamburger meat, chopped onion, salt, pepper, Worcestershire sauce, shredded cheddar and some steak seasoning. I wrapped those in Saran wrap and put them in the fridge.

Then I made a whole wheat pizza dough and topped our pizza, baked it for about 15 minutes then pulled it off the stone to wrap and freeze for tomorrow. When I get home, I’ll pull it out and cook it just like a frozen pizza from the store.

It’s tiring to do it this way, by the end of the evening, I’m pretty tired from being on my feet in the kitchen for so long, but I’m super happy later in the week to have done all the prep. Sometimes when I do this, I cut my lettuce and wash my veggies, too. Basically, I do anything I can do ahead of time so I don’t have to work so hard later in the week.

The only thing I didn’t pre-prepare was the ravioli dish.

20120826-194531.jpg

I didn’t need to because it’s just frozen tortolini (we are using that instead of ravioli) cooked then tossed in a sauce with arugula. I guess I could have made the sauce, but I decided not to.

Anyway, after being out so many nights for rush, I’m so happy to be cooking again. Now, if only I could get back on the workout horse. I need to get back to Barre3 when kickball ends, but we are playing in the finals on Thursday with a potential three games if we continue to win. Whew!

Yesterday, we decided to take on the home project of painting our patio furniture…after we paid for the 10 cans of spray paint, we probably could have just bought new furniture…lesson learned, but it looks good. (It’s hard to see here, but it’s a bronze-y brown now and used to be black-that-used-to-be-white).

20120826-202603.jpg
It’s not perfect by any means, but it works well enough…one more can of paint would have done it.

Also, here are some crafty images…I made these two wreaths for two friends this month…

20120826-200932.jpg

20120826-200948.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment