Good Food, New Furniture and a Pitiful Puppy


We had an amazing Christmas…it started last Sunday at my mom’s house. We went there around noon, played games, ate an amazing meal and opened some wonderful presents. We even got an impromptu concert from our little friend Kendal!

ImageMonday we drove to Kingsport to do Christmas with Bub’s extended family and his parents. Tuesday we had a big breakfast and then headed back to Knoxville. We opened presents together at our house then packed up to head to my aunt and uncle’s for my extended family Christmas.

ImageGreat photo, huh?

Here’s another one, even though I know my mom hates it…

20121230-223450.jpgWe went back to work on Wednesday. Thursday I went to Clinton for a girls night with my two besties and baby Adah. Friday we took our pitiful puppy to the clinic for surgery. She was terrified and it was awful dropping her off, but we were glad to have gotten her in so soon. When we called UT, they weren’t going to be able to get her in until January 28th and we just couldn’t stand to have her limping around any longer. After her xrays two weeks ago, we found out that she’d torn her CCL (dog equivalent of the ACL) and we are pretty sure she did that back in November.

We had to leave her at the clinic over night and they said she hated it. We picked her up Saturday morning and brought her home. I had to go to work, but Tanner was home with her all day.

Today was as normal a day as we’ve had for a while except that we spent most of the morning waiting for our dog to pee or poop. I was so distraught at one point, I wanted to cry. I can’t blame her for not wanting to go because she’s supposed to wear the cone of shame and be walked on a leash and in a sling (a belt that goes around her waist so we can lift her up a little bit while she walks around so she won’t put any weight on her back leg). So any time she goes out, we’re right with her. Usually we just put her out and let her do her business on her own time, but now we have to stand right over her and hold her leg off the ground a bit. Also, she has to go in the front yard…I’d get stage fright too! I felt so sorry for her, we took off the cone and let her go out that way (still with the sling). She FINALLY went (TWICE today). Unfortunately, the cone will have to go back on tonight and tomorrow while we’re at work so she won’t lick her wounds. I wish there was a better way! It seems so awful!

20121230-215524.jpg
Once we were able to stop worrying about the bathroom habits of our dog, we set about a pretty normal day. I decided it was time to put together the liquor cabinet Bub got from his parents and get it situated. It was a much larger project than I expected, but I got it finished and Bub was excited to start filling it up. I was excited about how much wine it holds (you can’t see it well in the picture below, but it’s quite a bit), that the wood of it matches the legs of my new chairs, AND that it cleared up some storage space in a couple cabinets and the pantry. (You can see a corner of my chair in the side of the photo.)

20121230-215406.jpg
After that was finished, I cooked dinner. I made Double Crunch Pan-Fried Honey Garlic Chicken, steamed broccoli with olive oil and kosher salt, and brown rice (in the rice cooker) with shallots. It made enough for two dinners and three lunches (all from just two trimmed chicken breasts–it’s amazing what you can do when you pound them flat)!

I deviated from the recipe a bit…I didn’t use as much ginger (probably only one and a half tablespoons), cayenne pepper (one tablespoon), and black pepper (two tablespoons). For the egg wash, I only used two eggs because I mixed in three tablespoons of plain non-fat yogurt and about three tablespoons of water. For the sauce, I used minced garlic (three teaspoons) and only about a half cup of honey. Also, I fried in vegetable oil (because it’s what we had).

20121230-215445.jpg
It turned out really well (even though the photograph looks like steak to me). A little sweet for Bub because of the sauce. For his leftovers, he’ll probably use BBQ sauce.

Now that dinner is over, Bub is watching football, Toby is sleeping and I am blogging (and soon to be practicing Spanish). Bub got me Rosetta Stone for Christmas and I’m working my way through it. So far, I have learned…

El perro y el gato duermando. Mi y Bub, nosotros somos esposas. My eposo no manejando. Cocino en la cocina.
(The dog and cat are sleeping. Me and Bub, we are spouses. My spouse isn’t driving. I cook in the kitchen.)

I better get back to practice because I’m not sure what I’ve learned up to now will get us very far. 🙂 I hope you all had a Feliz Navidad! Adios!

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner Menu, Family

One response to “Good Food, New Furniture and a Pitiful Puppy

  1. Food looks great! And what a cute pup! I can’t imagine if I were a dog wearing one of those things…

Leave a Reply

