Vegetarian Wednesday!


In my continued effort to workout more regularly and eat more cleanly, we had a vegetarian meal tonight. After I did a quick run and the gym and Bub exercised at home, we had a dinner of portobello mushrooms, sweet potato fries and broccoli.

This is the recipe I used for the mushrooms. EXCEPT I didn’t put them on a bun or accent them with lettuce and tomato. I did sprinkle them with balsamic and top with blue cheese and the sauce (recipe at the bottom of the above link). EXCEPT I added about a tablespoon of honey to the sauce and used dried parsley instead of fresh (about 1 tsp).

I used this recipe for the sweet potato fries, and it was AH.MAH.ZING. So good I wish I’d made more than just one potato’s worth of them…even though I did split the leftovers between two lunches.

The broccoli was just steamed and topped with olive oil and sea salt. I did it in my 50-year-old, mustard yellow, Tupperware microwaveable steamer…which almost met its death tonight because I accidentally set it on a hot stove eye. Luckily, I caught it in time and it wasn’t ruined, just scarred. (Mom, you know the severity of this…haha.) If you don’t have one of these, get one…you NEED it!

20130123-194225.jpg This is what mine looks like…it’s the best ever!

I was still a little hungry after dinner so I had some whole wheat toast with almond butter on it (and a little peanut butter because my almond stuff wouldn’t spread very well).

Overall, a great dinner to top off a great day that included lunch with my old friend Dwight at Gourmet Market where I had a “Fake Steak” sandwich (made with portobellos). đŸ™‚

Now that I’ve regained you with my meal plan today…I’m off and looking forward to a rest day tomorrow (finally) as I’ve been in the gym or in a class everyday since LAST Sunday (10 days i a row with six days in a row before that I think)…go me! Adios!

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner Menu, Working Out

Leave a Reply

